Wondering if you can eat at Wendy’s on a gluten-free diet? The quick answer is: Yes! Check out this ultimate guide to find out more about Wendy’s gluten-free menu.
Whether you’re in the mood for a bacon cheeseburger, French fries, a baked potato, or chili, Wendy’s is one of those fast food restaurants that pleases a crowd.
Even better yet, Wendy’s gluten-free menu is pretty extensive!
Let’s check out the menu and highlight the Wendy’s gluten-free options.
Wendy’s Gluten-Free Menu
Wendy’s has several items that are naturally gluten-free, or can be made gluten-free with a few substitutions. If you’re looking for details on Wendy’s gluten-free menu, you can view nutritional information on their app or website.
Here’s a snippet about food allergens straight from the source:
On our website, in our restaurants and on our app, we provide food allergen information to make it easy to see items containing common food allergens or that might have cross-contact with allergens. Many of our menu items can be customized to leave off ingredients you are trying to avoid, like cheese or condiments. You can make those modifications when ordering through our website or app, or at the restaurants simply by asking.
For more gluten-free articles check out these articles on Chick-Fil-A gluten-free, are cheetos gluten-free, are doritos gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free, are french fries gluten-free and is oat milk gluten-free.
Some of Wendy’s gluten-free menu items include salads (without chicken or croutons), drinks, Frostys, bunless burgers, chili, and baked potatoes.
Keep in mind, though, Wendy’s does not guarantee that any menu item is 100% gluten-free.
As stated on their website:
We provide known instances of allergens; however, cross contact is possible due to common handling and preparation areas in our restaurants. We are unable to guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of allergens. Customers with allergies and sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering. For more information on food allergies, you can review the Food Allergy Research & Education website at http://www.foodallergy.org.
What Is Gluten-Free at Wendy’s?
Unfortunately, the traditional burgers and French fries are off-limits for Wendy’s gluten-free diners. Wendy’s doesn’t offer gluten-free buns, and their French fries are made in a shared fryer, which means they could cross-contaminate with other gluten ingredients.
Still, there are a number of gluten-free options to enjoy at Wendy’s, including:
- Bunless burgers: Thought Wendy’s doesn’t offer gluten-free buns, you can ask for a burger without a bun, or get your burger wrapped in lettuce. (All other burger ingredients are gluten-free!)
- Salads: Almost all of Wendy’s salads are gluten-free, as long as you avoid adding chicken and croutons.
- Drinks: Wendy’s drinks are all gluten-free, including soda, lemonade, teas, and milk.
- Frostys: We all know a Wendy’s meal isn’t complete without a Frosty, and luckily, you can enjoy a chocolate or vanilla Frosty totally guilt-free!
- Chili: Wendy’s chili is made from ingredients that are naturally gluten-free, like ground beef, chili beans, tomatoes, onions, and celery.
- Baked potato: All of Wendy’s baked potato options are gluten-free, including the chili & cheese baked potato and sour cream and chives baked potato.
Wendy’s Gluten-Free Salad
Good news! If you have Celiac’s disease or a gluten-intolerance, you can order any of Wendy’s salads without worrying about gluten content.
However, there’s a catch: Wendy’s chicken and croutons contain gluten, so you’ll have to order your salad without those toppings in order for it to remain gluten-free.
Here’s a list of Wendy’s gluten-free salad options:
- Garden Side Salad (no croutons)
- Caesar Side Salad (no croutons)
- Taco Salad
- Apple Pecan Chicken Salad (no chicken)
- Asian Cashew Chicken Salad (no chicken)
- Spicy Chicken Caesar Salad (no chicken, no croutons)
- Strawberry Fields Salad (no chicken)
- BBQ Ranch Chicken Salad (no chicken)
Even though you’ll have to go without chicken and croutons on your salad, Wendy’s still has lots of gluten-free salad dressing and topping options.
Here are all of the Wendy’s gluten-free salad dressings and salad toppings:
- Italian Vinaigrette Dressing
- Lemon Garlic Caesar Dressing
- Ranch Dressing
- BBQ Ranch Dressing
- Light Honey French Dressing
- Light Ranch Dressing
- Thousand Island Dressing
- Light Spicy Asian Chili Vinaigrette
- Pomegranate Vinaigrette
- Sunflower Seeds
- Spicy Roasted Cashews
- Roasted Pecans
Wendy’s Gluten-Free Breakfast
On a first glance, Wendy’s gluten-free breakfast options seem pretty dismal. Their croissant sandwiches, biscuit sandwiches, and burritos are all off-limits, since the buns and tortillas contain gluten.
But if you take a closer look, there are actually quite a few tasty gluten-free breakfast items at Wendy’s—you just have to get a little more creative.
Here are some great gluten-free menu options for those with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivities:
- Sausage Breakfast Bowl: This gluten-free option isn’t on the Wendy’s menu, but if you ask for it, they can make it for you. It’s basically like a breakfast hash or breakfast burrito without the tortilla.
- Bacon Breakfast Bowl: This breakfast bowl is similar to the sausage breakfast bowl option, but with bacon instead of sausage.
- Homestyle Potatoes: Unlike Wendy’s French fries, their homestyle potatoes aren’t fried, so they don’t have as high of risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients.
- Apple Bites: Apple bites are simple freshly sliced apples, so they don’t contain any allergens!
Wendy’s Gluten-Free Condiments
What’s a fast food meal without some great dips and sauces? Whether you’re eating a bunless burger or a breakfast bowl, you can add on quite a few gluten-free condiments.
Here are your options for Wendy’s gluten-free toppings and sauces:
- Smoky Honey Mustard Sauce
- Hot Chili Seasoning
- Light Sour Cream
- Ranch Sauce
- Buttery Best Spread
- Red Onion
- Crinkle-Cut Pickles
- American Cheese
- Cheddar Cheese Sauce
- Asiago Cheese
No, Wendy’s French fries are not gluten-free. Although they are made from naturally gluten-free ingredients (potatoes, sea salt, and vegetable oil), Wendy’s cannot guarantee that they are gluten-free, since they aren’t made in a dedicated gluten-free fryer. This fryer may be used to cook chicken nuggets and hash browns, which contain gluten and could cause cross contamination of the French fries.
Yes, Wendy’s gluten-free menu includes chili. According to the ingredients information on the Wendy’s website, the chili is made with naturally gluten-free ingredients like tomatoes, sugar, onions, celery, ground beef, chili beans, and spices.
Yes, Wendy’s Frosty’s are gluten-free. According to the ingredients list on the Wendy’s website, Frosty’s are made from milk, sugar, corn syrup, cream, whey, nonfat dry milk, cocoa, guar gum, and other gluten-free ingredients.
No, Wendy’s does not have gluten-free buns. All of their buns are made with wheat flour and they do not offer a gluten-free alternative. However, you can order a lettuce wrap burger or ask for a burger without the bun.
You can enjoy a Wendy’s gluten-free meal by ordering salads (without chicken or croutons), Frostys, bunless burgers, chili, or baked potatoes. Wendy’s shares allergen information on their website and app, so you can refer to the menu there to see which items are gluten-free.
The Bottom Line
Wendy’s gluten-free food menu is fairly extensive, especially in comparison to other popular food chains. If you have gluten allergies and are looking for fast-food restaurants with gluten-free food, it’s a great option!
Though none of Wendy’s food is certified gluten-free, it’s usually safe to eat popular items like their chocolate Frosty, vanilla Frosty, apple pecan salad (without chicken), baked potato, chili, bunless burgers, and soft drinks.
If you’re hesitant, check out Wendy’s allergen menu to learn more about the specific ingredients in each menu item!