Wondering if you can eat at Taco Bell on a gluten-free diet? The quick answer is: They have some menu items made without gluten, but nothing is certified gluten-free.

Check out this COMPLETE guide to discover you options at Taco Bell while following a gluten-free diet.

collage of gluten free meal options at taco bell


 

Taco Bell was one of my favorite fast food restaurant stops as a pre-teen, and sometimes, it still really hits the spot when I want convenient and quick Mexican food. The Mexican Pizza, Crunchy Tacos, and Cinnamon Twists are so tasty!

It’s also a convenient option for when you’re on the road with kids. What kid doesn’t love Taco Bell?

But if you eat gluten-free because of Celiac disease or gluten sensitivities, you probably want to know: what’s on the Taco Bell gluten-free menu?

I’m here to answer all of your questions with this COMPLETE guide to the Taco Bell gluten-free menu.

Table of Contents

You also might like these articles on Starbucks gluten-freePanera gluten-freeJersey Mikes gluten-free, Wendy’s gluten-free, Chick Fil-A gluten-free and Chipotle gluten-free!

Is Anything at Taco Bell Celiac-Safe?

Here’s the short answer: it’s complicated. There are many items that are made without gluten ingredients, but everything is made in a shared kitchen environment, so there is a risk of cross-contamination.

Just keep in mind, Taco Bell doesn’t claim any of its items are *certified gluten-free*, so use your best judgment when ordering. There is always a risk of cross contamination with gluten-containing ingredients.

In fact, many people with Celiac disease have reported issues with cross-contamination at Taco Bell!

With that in mind, know that crunchy tacos, black beans and rice, and the Power Menu Bowls are all free of gluten. Breeze Freeze and Baja Blast Freezes are free of gluten, too.

overhead shot of tacos, beans and taco bowl with hot sauce from taco bell

Here is a complete list of Taco Bell options that are made without gluten (but do have the risk of cross-contaminating with gluten ingredients):

For more gluten-free articles check out these articles on are oats gluten-free, gluten-free cereal, gluten-free graham crackers and are doritos gluten-free

You also might like are snickers gluten-freeare french fries gluten-free and is oat milk gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Mains

  • Power Menu Bowl (Chicken)
  • Power Menu Bowl (Steak)
  • Power Menu Bowl (Veggie)
  • Black beans and rice
  • Crunchy Taco
  • Crunchy Taco Supreme
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco Supreme
  • Hash brown
  • Doritos Locos Tacos

Gluten-Free Sides

  • Black beans
  • Guacamole
  • Refried beans
  • Seasoned rice

Gluten-Free Salsas & Sauces

  • Avocado ranch sauce
  • Creamy chipotle sauce
  • Creamy jalapeno sauce
  • Hot sauce packet
  • Mild sauce packet
  • Red sauce
  • Spicy ranch sauce

Gluten-Free Ingredients

  • 3-cheese blend
  • Bacon
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Chicken
  • Creamer
  • Crunchy taco shell
  • Nacho chips
  • Nacho cheese Doritos Locos Tacos shell
  • Eggs
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Reduced-fat sour cream
  • Sausage crumbles
  • Seasoned beef
  • Steak
  • Tomatoes
  • Tostada shell
crunchy tacos and beans from taco bell

Is Taco Bell Mexican Pizza Gluten-Free?

No, Taco Bell’s Mexican Pizza isn’t gluten-free. It’s made with a flatbread-style crust that contains wheat, so it’s not safe for people with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

However, the Crispy Taco and Doritos Locos Tacos are free of gluten. Remember that there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients in Taco Bell’s shared kitchen.

If you’re okay with that risk, you can still satisfy your Mexican fast food craving with a similar Taco Bell dish.

Is Taco Bell Meat Gluten-Free?

All of the meat at Taco Bell is made without gluten ingredients, but it isn’t certified gluten-free. Because all Taco Bell items are made in a shared kitchen, there’s a risk that they could be contaminated with gluten ingredients.

Here’s a complete list of Taco Bell meat that is made without gluten:

  • Seasoned beef
  • Fire-grilled chicken
  • Steak
  • Sausage crumbles

According to the Taco Bell allergen information, the seasoned beef contains the following ingredients:

Beef, water, seasoning [cellulose, chili pepper, maltodextrin, salt, oats, soy lecithin, spices, tomato powder, sugar, onion powder, citric acid, natural flavors (including smoke flavor), torula yeast, cocoa, disodium inosinate & guanylate, dextrose, lactic acid, modified corn starch], salt, sodium phosphates. Contains: Soy

Here are the ingredients for the grilled chicken:

White meat chicken with rib meat, water, seasoning (modified potato starch, salt, yeast extract, spices, sugar, citric acid, disodium inosinate and guanylate, torula yeast, maltodextrin, dextrose, natural flavors, and 2% or less of soybean oil added as a processing aid), sodium phosphates, 

Are Taco Bell Crunchy Tacos Gluten-Free?

Crunchy Tacos are included on the Taco Bell’s menu for “how to avoid gluten.” They’re made with corn tortillas and do not contain any other gluten ingredients. But as with all ingredients at Taco Bell, they are prepared in a shared kitchen and could cross-contaminate with gluten. (And remember, anything with made with flour tortillas is not gluten-free.)

Here are all of the varieties that are made without gluten ingredients:

  • Crunchy Taco
  • Crunchy Taco Supreme
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco Supreme

Is Taco Bell Nacho Cheese Gluten-Free?

No, according to Taco Bell’s allergen information, the nacho cheese sauce is not gluten-free. It contains the following ingredients:

Nonfat milk, cheese whey, water, vegetable oil (canola oil, soybean oil), modified food starch, maltodextrin, natural flavors, salt, dipotassium phosphate, jalapeno puree, vinegar, lactic acid, cellulose gum, potassium citrate, sodium stearoyl lactylate, citric acid, annatto and oleoresin paprika (VC). Contains: Milk [certified vegetarian]

Are Taco Bell Nacho Fries Gluten-Free?

No, Taco Bell Nacho Fries aren’t gluten-free. Although potatoes are naturally gluten-free, the Taco Bell fries are seasoned with spices and enriched flour. Since wheat flour contains gluten, it is not safe for people with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

FAQs

Do Taco Bell tortilla chips have gluten?

Yes, according to Taco Bell’s website, Taco Bell nacho chips are made without gluten ingredients. (But the nacho cheese is NOT gluten-free) Here is the full ingredient list:

White ground corn, water, 2% or less of: calcium propionate (P), fumaric acid, sorbic acid (P), cellulose gum, sodium propionate (P), salt. Prepared in canola and/or vegetable oil. [certified vegan].

are taco bell cinnamon twists gluten-free?

No, Taco Bell Cinnamon Twists aren’t gluten-free. They’re made with wheat flour, so they’re not safe for someone on a gluten-free diet. Here is the full list of ingredients:

Wheat flour, yellow corn meal, rice flour, salt. Cinnamon sugar: sugar, cinnamon, soybean oil, maltodextrin or dextrin, natural flavors. Prepared in canola oil. Contains: Wheat [certified vegan]

is taco bell mild sauce gluten-free?

Yes, Taco Bell mild sauce is gluten-free. It’s made with tomato puree, vinegar, food starch, chili spices, sugar, and other natural flavors. Since Taco Bell sauce comes in its own package, the risk of cross-contamination with gluten is low.

Does Taco Bell have any gluten-free meals?

Taco Bell has several menu options that are made without gluten ingredients, like the Power Bowl, Crunchy Tacos, side of Rice and Beans, or Doritos Locos Tacos. But it’s important to note, all Taco Bell items are made in a shared kitchen, and the there is a risk of contamination with gluten.

Do Taco Bell hash browns have gluten?

No, Taco Bell hash browns don’t contain any gluten. They’re made with just potatoes, vegetable oil, salt, and dextrose. They’re also fried in canola oil in a gluten-free fryer. However, Taco Bell uses a shared kitchen, and there is still a risk of cross-contamination with gluten.

The Bottom Line

Taco Bell is a fast-food chain with a variety of options that are made without gluten, including Crunchy Tacos, Power Menu Bowls, and Beans and Rice.

However, there’s always a risk of contamination with gluten-containing foods, since all food is prepared in a shared kitchen. Inquire with your local Taco Bell and take caution when ordering!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *