Does cornbread contain gluten? Learn everything you want to know about eating cornbread on a gluten-free diet in this helpful post!

is cornbread gluten free with pan of cornbread in white pan


 

SHORT ANSWER: No! In most cases cornbread is made with a combination of cornmeal and regular flour. Always check the ingredients before eating cornbread on a gluten-free diet.

Cornbread is a classic Southern food that’s synonymous with comfort food! I LOVE it with a bit of sweet flavor, golden brown topping, and a touch of butter and honey on top.

In our house, sweet gluten-free cornbread is the perfect side dish for whenever we made gluten-free chili, stew, or soup. It’s the perfect vehicle for sopping up every last bite of a delicious meal!

Whether you prefer sweet cornbread or traditional savory cornbread, it’s one of those foods just about everyone loves. You might even get wild and add canned corn, green chilies, or cheese!

But if you’re on a gluten-free diet or enjoy gluten-free baking, you might be asking yourself: is cornbread gluten-free?

After all, corn is gluten-free, right?

I’m answering all of your questions about corn bread and gluten-free diets in this post!

Table of Contents
A slice of gluten-free cornbread with butter on top

Is Cornbread Gluten-Free?

No, regular cornbread typically contains gluten. Pure corn is gluten-free, but cornbread is usually made with a mix of cornmeal and wheat flour—which contains gluten.

But I have good news! There are some brands making gluten-free cornbread mix, and you can also make gluten-free cornbread from scratch. With this type of cornbread, wheat flour is usually substituted with gluten-free flour blend.

You also might these gluten-free corn muffins or gluten-free corn casserole!

It includes a secret ingredient (whipped egg whites), making it light, fluffy, and moist. Trust me, it’s the best gluten-free cornbread recipe you’ll ever try!

You also might like these articles on gluten-free graham crackers, are oats gluten-free, is baking powder gluten-free, is yeast gluten-free and are cornflakes gluten-free.

What Is Cornbread Made Of?

Most cornbread is made from cornmeal (corn flour), wheat flour, eggs, milk, and butter. Traditional Southern-style cornbread does not contain any sweetener, but some gluten-free cornbread contains 1-2 tablespoons of white sugar or a little honey.

Is Jiffy Cornbread Gluten-Free?

No, Jiffy cornbread isn’t gluten-free. The first ingredient is wheat flour, which has gluten in it.

Unfortunately, if you have Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, you’ll have to avoid all Jiffy cornbread mixes from the grocery store. They do not have any variations that are gluten-free.

Instead, consider making your own copycat Jiffy cornbread mix. Check out a great gluten free recipe in my Gluten-Free Corn Casserole post! For an easy recipe, try gluten-free cornbread mix from Bob’s Red Mill, Krusteaz, or King Arthur.

You might like this Sweet Potato Cornbread.

close up shot of scoop of gluten free cornbread stuffing on spoon

Is Cornbread Stuffing Gluten-Free?

No, cornbread stuffing usually contains gluten. Most cornbread stuffing is made with cornbread, which contains wheat flour. Sometimes it’s made with a mix of cornbread and other types of bread, but they’re all typically made with wheat.

If you want to make gluten-free cornbread stuffing, check out my gluten-free cornbread stuffing recipe, which uses a gf cornbread recipe made from gluten-free cornmeal and gluten-free flour blends.

Or use my homemade gluten-free cornbread as a substitution in another great recipe!

You also might like these posts cornmeal pancakes or masa for tamales!

FAQs

Does Martha White cornbread have gluten?

Most variations of Martha White cornbread mix have gluten in them. However, the brand does offer two gluten-free varieties: Gladiola Gluten Free Yellow Cornbread and Gluten Free Sweet Yellow Cornbread & Muffin Mix.

is cracker barrel cornbread gluten free?

No, Cracker Barrel cornbread is not gluten-free. Enriched wheat flour is listed on the ingredient label, and wheat flour contains gluten. The brand does not sell any gluten-free Southern cornbread or sweet cornbread mix.

is krusteaz cornbread gluten free?

Krusteaz standard cornbread mix isn’t gluten-free, since it’s made with wheat flour. However, the company does offer a gluten-free Honey Cornbread mix, which is made with simple ingredients like yellow cornmeal, millet flour, and sorghum flour.

Is cornmeal gluten friendly?

It depends. Cornmeal is naturally gluten-free, but it may come in contact with wheat or other gluten-containing grains during the manufacturing process. The best way to make sure you’re getting gluten-free cornmeal is to look for a certified gluten-free cornmeal label. I like Arrowhead Mills gluten-free cornmeal best.

Is cornbread healthier than bread?

It depends on how you look at it! In some ways, cornbread is healthier than regular white bread. When you compare it slice for slice, it has fewer calories and more nutrients, including phosphorus, selenium, and B vitamins. However, many types of whole-grain wheat bread also contain important nutrients, and some types of cornbread contain a lot of sugar.

The Bottom Line

Is cornbread gluten free?

In most cases, no. Traditional cornbread is made with a mix of cornmeal and wheat flour, so it is not a gluten-free bread that is safe for people with Celiac disease.

However, you can buy gluten-free cornbread mix from brands like Bob’s Red Mill, King Arthur, and Krusteaz. (Just look out for the gluten-free label on the package.) You can also make gluten-free cornbread from scratch at home!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *