If you’re on the hunt for gluten-free cereals, you probably want to know: Are corn flakes gluten-free? Check out this post to learn more about if corn flakes fit into a gluten-free diet.

2 boxes of corn flakes on white counter
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!

Corn flakes are one of the most popular cereals in America — readily available in grocery stores and a common breakfast staple for decades.

Not only do corn flakes make a quick and satisfying bowl of cereal, but they’re also used as breading for chicken or pork, added to muffins, or even used to make DIY fried ice cream.

With all of the places corn flakes pop up in American dishes, it’s understandable if you’re wondering if corn flakes are gluten-free.

Quick answer: Most of the time, corn flakes are not gluten-free because they contain malt barley. However, there are a few exceptions!

Are Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?

Most corn flakes are not considered a gluten-free cereal, even though the main ingredient is milled corn. This is because they have gluten-containing ingredients like malt barley or other malt flavoring.

But if you’re really on the hunt for gluten-free corn flakes, you can find them! Nature’s Path Organic Fruit Juice Corn Flakes and Nestle Gluten-Free Corn Flakes are certified gluten-free, meaning they are tested by the brand and verified to contain less than 20 ppm gluten.

Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are not gluten-free because they contain malt flavor, which you can find on their list of ingredients online. Most other brands are similarly unsafe for those with Celiac disease or a gluten-intolerance.

Are Any Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?

Yes! A few brands of corn flakes are certified gluten-free, including Nature’s Path Organic Fruit Juice Corn Flakes and Nestle Gluten-Free Corn Flakes.

Most other popular brands of corn flakes are not gluten-free because they contain malt barley, which has gluten in it.

Even the corn flakes that do not contain malt barley usually don’t have a gluten-free label, because they’re made in a facility that also processes wheat. This puts the cereal at risk of cross-contamination with gluten.

You also might like these cornflake crunchies.

Which Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?

Nature’s Path Organic Fruit Juice Corn Flakes and Nestle Gluten-Free Corn Flakes are two of the only types of gluten-free corn flakes.

As you can see on the box, these corn flakes have a gluten-free label, meaning the company tests the cereal to ensure it contains less than 20 ppm gluten.

bowl of corn flakes next to box of cornflakes

Which Corn Flakes Are Not Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, most popular corn flake cereal brands are not gluten-free. Check out the list below to learn which corn flakes contain gluten and which corn flakes present a risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients.

Corn Flakes that Contain Gluten

The following corn flake cereals are NOT gluten-free, because they contain malt barley in some form:

  • Kellogg’s Corn Flakes: Kellogg’s corn flakes contain malt flavor, so they are not gluten-free.
  • Great Value Corn Flakes: Sold at Walmart, Great Value Corn Flakes are not gluten-free because they contain malt extract.
  • Happy Belly Corn Flakes: This Amazon brand cereal is not gluten-free because it contains malted barley syrup.

Corn Flakes with Risk of Cross-Contamination

These corn flakes do not contain malt barley, but they do present a risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients during the manufacturing process. For this reason, they are not labeled gluten free:

  • Good & Gather Organic Frosty Flakes: The ingredient label lists only organic corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt, but the cereal box does not have a gluten-free label.
  • Barbara’s Organic Corn Flakes: This cereal is made with organic milled corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. However, the nutrition label states that the cereal is manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat.
  • 365 Organic Corn Flakes: This cereal from Whole Foods is made from organic milled corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. Still, the brand does not make any gluten-free claims about the cereal, so we can assume there is a risk of cross-contamination in the manufacturing process.

FAQs

Do Kellogg’s Corn Flakes have gluten?

Yes, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes have gluten in them. Even though the main ingredient is milled corn, the cereal also contains malt flavor, which has gluten in it and is not safe for those who have Celiac disease or a gluten allergy.

Which breakfast cereals are gluten-free?

Good news! Many of the most popular breakfast cereals are naturally gluten-free, including Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Cherrios, Lucky Charms, Fruity Pebbles, and Honey Rice Puffins.

What can I eat for breakfast if I am gluten intolerant?

Fortunately, there are lots of gluten-free, healthy breakfast options you can enjoy if you have a gluten allergy or gluten intolerance. Here are a few ideas: Rice Chex , Corn Chex, or another gluten-free cereal, breakfast tacos or burritos with corn tortillas, gluten-free oats, gluten-free waffles or pancakes, smoothies, scrambled eggs, and egg cups.

The Bottom Line

Gluten-free corn flakes can be tough to find in your local grocery store, since most corn flakes contain malt flavoring. Kellogg’s corn flakes are not gluten-free, and neither are most generic brand corn flakes.

However, it’s not an impossible task. Nature’s Path Organic Fruit Juice Corn Flakes and Nestle Gluten-Free Corn Flakes are a great option that can be found on Amazon. They are both certified gluten-free and safe to eat if you have Celiac disease.

Otherwise, you can turn to alternative whole grain gluten-free cereals, such as Rice Chex, Corn Chex, and Cherrios.

Happy snacking!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I'm Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I'm here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *