Want the scoop on gluten-free candy? You’re in the right place! Check out this complete guide to learn more about eating candy on a gluten-free diet.



 

When you eat a gluten-free diet, you sometimes have to pass on a sweet treat served at work, school, parties, or other social gatherings. But is candy totally off-limits?

In this guide, I’m sharing everything you need to know about gluten-free candy. I’ve created the ultimate gluten-free candy list, including candy that is NOT gluten-free, gluten-free candy bars, and candy that is gluten-free AND dairy-free.

Use this list as your guide to the Halloween season, class parties, birthdays, and more!

Table of Contents

Gluten-Free Candy at a Glance

gluten free halloween candy list
  1. Plain MMs – Gluten-Free! Check out are mms gluten-free.
  2. Peanut MMs – Gluten-Free!
  3. Whoppers – Not gluten-free. Contains barley malt.
  4. Reese’s – Gluten-Free! Regular shape only. Seasonal shapes may NOT be gluten-free. Check out this article on are reeses gluten-free.
  5. Rolos – Gluten-Free!
  6. Lifesaver Gummies – Gluten-Free!
  7. Milky Ways – Not gluten-free. Check out are milky ways gluten-free.
  8. Snickers – Gluten-Free! Check are snickers gluten-free.
  9. Hersheys Milk Chocolate Bar – This is a tricky one! Hershey’s makes many different chocolate bars but only considers two of them to be gluten-free to 20 parts per million or less: its plain milk chocolate bar (only in the 1.55 oz. size) and its milk chocolate with almonds bar (only in the 1.45 oz). The fun size bar has no gluten-containing ingredients but isn’t labeled gluten-free.
  10. Jolly Rancher Lolly Pop – Gluten-Free!
  11. Starburst – Gluten-Free!
  12. Twix – Not gluten-free. Cookie layer contains wheat.
  13. Butterfinger – Gluten-Free!
  14. Twizzlers – Not gluten-free. They are made with wheat.
  15. 100 Grand – Not gluten-free. Contains barley malt.
  16. York Peppermint Patty – Gluten-Free!
  17. Haribo Goldbears – Not gluten-free. May be contaminated with wheat.
  18. 3 Musketeers – Gluten-Free!
  19. Milk Duds – Gluten-Free!
  20. KitKat – Not gluten-free. Cookie layer contains wheat.
  21. Skittles – Gluten-Free! Check out are skittles gluten-free.
  22. Crunch Bar – Not gluten-free. Contains barley malt.
  23. Yum Earth Candy – Gluten-Free!

For more information on gluten-free candy, check out are sour patch kids gluten-free, are swedish fish gluten-free, and are marshmallows gluten-free.

You also might like these articles on what cereal is gluten-free and the best gluten-free graham crackers.

What Candy Is Gluten-Free?

First, let’s clear the air. Even though some candy contains gluten, there are still a LOT popular gluten-free candies to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Everything from chocolate to Skittles and Starbursts is naturally made free of gluten ingredients, so they’re totally safe for people with Celiac disease. Lollipops, Tootsie Rolls, and many varieties of M&Ms are gluten-free, too!

Things to watch out for:

If a candy isn’t gluten-free, it’s usually because it contains one of the following gluten-containing ingredients:

  • Wheat: Candy bars that have a layer of wafer or cookie are typically made with wheat flour, which contains gluten.
  • Glucose syrup: Some candies are made with gluten-containing glucose syrup, such as Mambas, Twizzlers, and sour straws.
  • Barley malt: Most malt ingredients contain gluten, and barley malt is no exception. This ingredient is sometimes found in candy bars made with crispy rice, such as 100 Grand Bars.

Gluten-Free Candy List

As of now, the candies on this list are considered gluten-free in the United States. Keep in mind that ingredients and gluten-free certifications vary from one country to another, so this may not be true in Canada, Europe, and beyond.

Manufacturers sometimes change ingredients slightly, so it’s always important to check the ingredient label to verify that the candy is truly gluten-free.

Without further ado, here is a complete list of gluten-free candy options, broken down by brand!

Ferrara and Ferrero Candy (Includes former Nestle products)

  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Black Forest Gummies and Fruit Snacks
  • Bob’s Sweet Stripes
  • Boston Baked Beans
  • Brach’s Candy Corn (including other Brach’s candies—check labels)
  • Butterfingers
  • Ferrara Gummies and Jellies 
  • Jawbreakers
  • Jujubes
  • Jujyfruits
  • Lemonheads 
  • Now & Laters
  • Rain-Blo Gumballs
  • Raisinets 
  • Red Hots
  • Sathers Cherry Sours
  • Sathers Gummies
  • SweeTarts (original variety is gluten-free, other flavors may vary)
  • Tic Tacs
  • Trolli Gummies and Fruit Snacks (excluding Sour Brite Bites and Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers)

Hershey’s

  • Almond Joy (excluding Almond Joy Pieces)
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit and Nut Snacks (only certain flavors — check labels)
  • Heath Bars
  • Kisses (only certain varieties are gluten-free, such as Caramel-Filled, Hugs, Cherry Cordial Crème, Mint Truffle, Milk Chocolate, Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate, and Candy Cane)
  • Milk Chocolate Bar
  • Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds
  • Nuggets (only some varieties are gluten-free, such as Milk Chocolates, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds, Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark Chocolate)
  • PayDay
  • Reese’s Fast Break bar
  • Reese’s Nutrageous bar
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (excluding seasonal shapes)
  • Reese’s Pieces (excluding Reese’s Pieces Eggs)
  • Reese’s Unwrapped Mini Minis
  • Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Cups (excluding seasonal shapes)
  • Rolo Creamy Caramels in Rich Chocolate (excluding Rolo Minis)
  • Skor Toffee Bar
  • Special Dark Snack Bars
  • York Peppermint Patties (excluding York Pieces Candy, Sugar-Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and 5-ounce York Shapes)

Just Born

  • Mike and Ike Original Fruits
  • Mike and Ike Mega Mix
  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
  • Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
  • Peeps
  • Hot Tamales
  • Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews

You also might like this article on are chocolate chips gluten-free.

Mars Wrigley

  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove (all except Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Graham and Cookies and Cream varieties)
  • Lifesavers
  • Milky Way Midnight and Caramel bars (Original Milky Way is not gluten-free)
  • M&M’s (except for those with pretzels, crisps, and seasonal items)
  • Skittles
  • Snickers (not certified gluten-free)
  • Starburst

Smarties

According to Smarties candy company, all Smarties candies are gluten-free, including Smarties pops, Love Hearts, and Original Smarties!

Tootsie Roll

  • Andes
  • Candy Blox
  • Candy Carnival
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Cella’s Cherries
  • Charleston Chew
  • Charms
  • Child’s Play
  • Cry Baby
  • DOTS
  • Dubble Bubble
  • Fluffy Stuff
  • Frooties
  • Fruit Chews
  • Fruit Chew Pops
  • Junior Mints
  • Mini Bites
  • Nik-L-Nip
  • Razzles
  • Sugar Babies
  • Sugar Daddy
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Wack-O-Wax

Candy That is NOT Gluten-Free

Despite the long list of candy that is gluten-free, there are some you’ll want to avoid if you have Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Some candies are gluten-free in their original form, but seasonal varieties are off-limits (like Reese’s).

Check out the following list to discover which candy is NOT gluten-free, along with the reason why:

  • 100 Grand: Contains barley malt, may contain wheat
  • Baby Ruth: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Butterfinger Crisp: Contains barley malt, may contain wheat
  • CRUNCH: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Ferrero Rocher: Contains wheat flour
  • Kinder Bueno: Contains wheat flour
  • Kinder Joy: Contains wheat flour
  • Kit Kat: Contains wheat flour
  • Pretzel M&Ms: Contain wheat
  • Crispy M&Ms: Contain barley malt, may contain wheat
  • Seasonal M&Ms: May contain wheat, check product label
  • Milky Way: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Mars Bars: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Nerds: Risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Seasonal Reese’s: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Twizzlers: Contain wheat flour

Gluten-Free Candy Bars

If you’re anything like me, you go straight for the chocolate bars every time you’re around a bowl of candy. And thankfully, many candy bars are gluten-free! We’ve covered some of these in the list above, but if you’re here specifically for a list of gluten-free candy bars, I have you covered!

Here is a list of popular gluten-free products on the candy bar aisle!

  • 3 Musketeers
  • Almond Joy
  • Butterfinger
  • Cadbury Caramello
  • Clark Bars
  • Heath Bar
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Bar (Avoid Cookies and Cream Bar)
  • Milky Way Midnight or Caramel (Avoid original Milky Way)
  • Mounds
  • Oh Henry
  • Payday
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (Avoid seasonal shapes)
  • Reese’s Fast Break
  • Rolo Candies (Avoid Rolo Minis)
  • Skor
  • Snickers
  • York Peppermint Patties

Candy Bars That AREN’T Gluten-Free

Here are the candy bars you’ll need to avoid if you’re on a gluten-free diet. These candy bars may contain wheat, barley malt, or have a high risk of cross-contamination with gluten during the manufacturing process.

  • 100 Grand: Contains barley malt, may contain wheat
  • Baby Ruth: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Butterfinger Crisp: Contains barley malt, may contain wheat
  • CRUNCH: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Hershey’s Cookies and Cream Bars: Contains wheat flour
  • Kinder Bueno: Contains wheat flour
  • Kinder Joy: Contains wheat flour
  • Kit Kat: Contains wheat flour
  • Mars Bars: High risk of cross-contamination with gluten
  • Milky Way Original: Contains barley malt. High risk of cross-contamination with gluten

What Candy Is Gluten- and Dairy-Free?

If you eat gluten-free and dairy-free, you’re probably used to being extra cautious about reading the ingredient list. I’ve rounded up a great list of gluten-free candy that is ALSO dairy-free. But as usual, it’s a good idea to confirm gluten-free statements on the label or company website!

  • Airheads
  • Atomic fireballs
  • Brach’s Lemon Drops
  • Brach’s Peppermint Candy
  • Enjoy Life Chocolates
  • Life Savers
  • Hot Tamales
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Necco wafers
  • Now and Laters
  • Mike and Ike’s
  • Swedish Fishla
  • Skittles
  • Smarties
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Starburst
  • Sweetarts

FAQs

What halloween candy is gluten-free?

Many types of Halloween candy are gluten-free, including Starbursts, Skittles, Butterfinger candy bars, Hershey’s Original, Almond Joy, Reese’s (excluding seasonal shapes), Rolo’s (excluding Minis), and York Peppermint Patties. If you have a gluten allergy, avoid popular candies that contain gluten, such as 100 Grand bars, Baby Ruth, Crunch bars, Kit Kats, and Milky Way.

What popular candy are gluten-free?

Great news! Candy comes in a variety of gluten-free options. In fact, some of your favorite candies may be gluten-free. Some candies that are safe for people with gluten food allergies include Airheads, Skittles, Smarties, Sour Patch Kids, Starbursts, 3 Musketeers, Snickers, and most varieties of M&Ms. Be sure to avoid pretzel M&Ms, crispy M&Ms, and seasonal Reese’s shapes, since these candies contain gluten.

What candy can celiacs not eat?

People with Celiac disease should avoid any candy that contains gluten ingredients, such as wheat flour, barley malt, or glucose syrup. Some popular candies that contain gluten include 100 Grand bars, Baby Ruth, Crunch bars, seasonal Reese’s shapes, pretzel M&Ms, and crispy M&Ms. Kit Kat bars, Mars Bars, and Butterfinger Crisp also contain gluten.

Does any candy have gluten?

Yes, certain types of candy have gluten and are not safe for people with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. These candies often contain barley malt, glucose syrup, or wheat flour. Always check package labels to confirm ingredients, and avoid popular candy that contains gluten, such as Kit Kats, 100 Grand bars, Baby Ruth, Crunch bars, and seasonal Reese’s shapes.

Are Kit Kats gluten-free?

No, Kit Kats are not gluten-free. The wafer layer in this candy is made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. If you’re looking for gluten free candy options, try Snickers, Butterfinger, or 3 Musketeers.

Are all Hershey Kisses gluten-free?

Some varieties of Hershey’s Kisses are gluten-free, while others are not. Milk Chocolate Kisses are gluten-free, along with Caramel-Filled, Hugs, Cherry Cordial Crème, Mint Truffle, Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate, and Candy Cane.

Are Tootsie Rolls gluten-free?

Yes, all types of Tootsie Rolls are naturally gluten-free. They’re made with ingredients like sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, condensed skim milk, cocoa, whey, soy lecithin, and other artificial and natural flavors.

The Bottom Line

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you can still enjoy lots of delicious treats, including gluten-free candy! The vast majority of candy manufacturers make lots of popular gluten-free candies, and some varieties of candy are even gluten-free and dairy-free.

Starbursts, Skittles, and Swedish Fish are great gluten-free candy options when you’re in the mood for something chewy and fruity. Classic candy bars like Butterfingers, Snickers, and Reese’s peanut butter cups are perfect gluten-free candy selections when you want something chocolatey!

When in doubt, remember to read labels. Happy snacking!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Comments

  1. Hi there! Sooo, you may have made a mistake on the Hershey’s milk chocolate bar. I believe the 1.55 oz is the only size that’s gluten free and the other sizes do not have the gluten free symbol on the wrappers. If that has all changed, I’d like to know. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my comment.

    1. Thank you so much for pointing this out! I did some research and you’re right. Hershey’s makes many different chocolate bars but only considers two of them to be gluten-free to 20 parts per million or less: its plain milk chocolate bar (only in the 1.55 oz. size) and its milk chocolate with almonds bar (only in the 1.45 oz.). The mini size doesn’t have any gluten-containing ingredients but isn’t labeled gluten-free. I’ve updated the post – thanks again.

  2. You need to take M&Ms off the list.
    They are produced on the same lines as the Crispy which contain gluten.
    I found out the hard way when I had a reaction and contacted the company.

    1. Candy corn has no gluten-containing ingredients, but many brands aren’t certified gluten-free. I have celiac and I’ve never had a problem with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *