You’re asking yourself: Is coffee gluten-free? We’ve done the research! Read on to learn how coffee can be part of a gluten-free diet.

coffee cup in the middle of coffee beans


Coffee is a favorite morning pick-me-up all around the globe. Made from roasted coffee beans (which are not really beans, but we’ll talk about that later), coffee is an excellent natural source of energizing caffeine.

SHORT ANSWER: Is Coffee Gluten-Free?

SHORT ANSWER: Yes! Coffee beans do not contain gluten, so plain coffee is naturally gluten-free. Most of the sweeteners and creamers added to coffee are also gluten-free, but you’ll want to check labels to make sure.

Pure coffee is nothing but roasted, ground coffee beans brewed in hot water. Essentially, there are two ingredients: plain coffee beans and water. From there, restaurants, coffee shops and home baristas may add milk, cream, sugar, syrups and other flavors to enhance their steamy beverages.

So what is a coffee bean? Coffee beans are actually the seeds in the center of “coffee cherries,” the fruit that grows on coffea plants. Each coffee cherry typically has two semi-circular seeds that resemble beans. The beans are green when young; when aged and roasted, they take on a rich brown color.

If you’re a coffee lover trying to follow a gluten-free meal plan, you may be wondering if coffee consumption fits into your diet.

Read on to discover gluten-free offerings from some of the most popular coffee labels in the country. We’ll also discuss coffee mix-ins: Which are safe to consume on a gluten-free diet?

Be sure to check out this article on Starbucks gluten-free menu!

You also might like this collection of my favorite gluten-free breakfast ideas!

Table of Contents

Answer: Is Coffee Gluten-Free?

Yes, both brewed coffee and instant coffee are naturally gluten-free. What about decaf coffee? Also gluten-free!

With coffee, gluten contamination is only an issue if a creamer or flavor additive contains gluten as a thickener, or if the coffee is processed in a facility that has cross-contamination with gluten-containing products.

For more articles on gluten-free living, check out gluten-free graham crackers, gluten-free hot chocolate, gluten-free popcorn, gluten-free Chick-Fil-A and gluten-free Wendy’s.

You also might like is bourbon gluten-free.

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten-Free?

From chocolate hazelnut to caramel, there are a plethora of coffee creamer flavors out there, with more being added each year. The good news: Most coffee creamers are gluten-free!

Coffee creamers sometimes include dairy ingredients, but they’re unlikely to incorporate wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients. For example, these are the gluten-free ingredients in Original Coffee Mate:

  • Water
  • Corn syrup solids
  • Vegetable oil
  • Micellar casein
  • Mono- and diglycerides
  • Dipotassium phosphate
  • Natural flavor
  • Carrageenan

Many other popular brands of coffee creamer also deliver gluten-free products. These are all safe options if you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity:

Some of these brands are marked “Gluten-Free,” meaning that they have met the FDA requirement of less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. Others do not carry this certification, but the ingredients listed do not contain gluten, and gluten is not listed as an allergen in the nutrition facts.

You also might like these articles on gluten-free alcohol and gluten-free beer.

Is Starbucks Coffee Gluten-Free?

Many of Starbucks’ coffee drinks are gluten-free. In fact, any of their plain coffees are a safe bet. However, there are some specialty beverages that should be avoided because they have ingredients that do contain gluten.

Here’s what NOT to order at Starbucks if you’re gluten-free:

  • Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Chocolate Cookie Crumble Crème Frappuccino (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino (contains malt extract)
  • Java Chip Frappuccino (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Iced Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Chocolate Cream Cold Brew (contains natural malt flavor from barley)

Please note that Starbucks issued this disclaimer in 2018: “We cannot guarantee that any of our beverages are free from allergens (including milk, eggs, soy, nuts, peanuts, gluten and others) as we use shared equipment to store, prepare and serve them.” Let your barista know that you’re gluten-free, and use your best judgment (based on the information above) when placing your order.

Feeling peckish? Starbucks doesn’t have a whole lot of gluten-free food products, but there are some options if you look beyond the baked goods. Fruit salad, KIND bars, and Hippeas chickpea chips are a few choices that don’t come with a side of digestive issues!

You also might like this recipe for Coffee Fluff.

Is Dunkin Donuts Coffee Gluten-Free?

Dunkin’ Donuts serves up a variety of coffee drinks, both hot and iced. These drinks do not have any gluten ingredients, and the syrups and milks used to flavor them are also gluten-free. Keep in mind that there is the possibility of cross-contamination in a facility like Dunkin’ Donuts that handles a lot of wheat flour.

Dunkin’ offers several types of creamers for coffee drinks. Oat milk is one possible substitute for dairy milk. But because oats often undergo cross-contamination with gluten products, oat milk may not be completely gluten-free, so it’s best to avoid it unless it’s a certified gluten-free oat milk. Go for dairy milk or perhaps coconut milk if you’re dairy-free.

Click here for a complete list of nutrition facts for Dunkin’ Donuts’ full menu. Dunkin’ Donuts does caution guests, “Please be advised that our products may contain or may have been further processed on shared equipment that may have come in contact with allergens including eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, sesame, soy, tree nuts, wheat, and shellfish.” In other words, there is no guarantee that your drink will not contain any trace gluten. Dunkin’ encourages guests to let their server know if someone in their party has a food allergy so they can proceed with extra caution.

These are the gluten-free coffee drinks currently available at Dunkin’:

  • Coffee
  • Iced Coffee
  • Cold Brew
  • Americano
  • Iced Americano
  • Latte
  • Iced Latte
  • Signature Latte
  • Iced Signature Latte
  • Macchiato
  • Iced Macchiato
  • Cappuccino
  • Iced Cappuccino
  • Espresso
  • Frozen Coffee

All of these drinks will give you options for creamers and flavorings, which are gluten-free. But again, cross-contamination is a possibility with any type of coffee you order.

Of course, you will want to use extreme caution when ordering any food products at Dunkin’, as most do contain wheat flour.

Is Folgers Coffee Gluten-Free?

While coffee is naturally gluten-free, Folgers coffee is not certified gluten-free, and their website contains a warning.

Folgers states, “Due to the use of common equipment within the agricultural community to harvest, store, and transport crops, our roast and ground products may contain trace amounts of grain-based ingredients.”

Certain flavored coffee products by Folgers may also contain ingredients that carry gluten.

In a nutshell, Folgers does not list gluten grains as ingredients in any of their coffees, but it’s not guaranteed that there won’t be traces of gluten. So if you have celiac disease or follow a strict gluten-free diet, you may want to choose coffee brands that are certified gluten-free.

Use coffee and gluten-free ice cream to make this mocha milkshake.

coffee cup in the middle of coffee beans


is there gluten in coffee or milk?

Regular coffee and milk are naturally gluten-free! Just make sure they are packaged in a facility that does not risk cross-contamination with products that do contain gluten. This information should be noted at the bottom of the nutrition facts on the label.

is all coffee gluten-free?

Coffee is made from coffee beans (actually seeds from the “coffee cherry” fruit), which are naturally gluten-free. Coffee is therefore gluten-free unless gluten-containing flavorings have been added to it, or it was packaged in a facility where it came in contact with gluten. Always check ingredient labels.

is coffee mate gluten-free?

Yes, Coffee Mate is gluten-free. Nestle, manufacturer of Coffee Mate, states, “This non-dairy coffee creamer is lactose-free, cholesterol-free, and gluten-free,” regarding Original Coffee Mate Creamer.

is coffee ok with celiac disease?

Coffee is safe to consume for celiac patients or anyone else who is likely to have an adverse reaction to gluten. Coffee is gluten-free unless it has flavorings added to it that contain gluten, or it has been packaged in a facility with gluten cross-contamination.

what common drinks have gluten?

Alcoholic beverages such as beer, lager, stout and ale typically contain gluten, because they usually incorporate wheat, rye, or barley. Wine coolers, premade coffee drinks, drink mixes, and premade chocolate milk may also contain gluten.

The Bottom Line

Coffee is, in fact, gluten-free! Cross contamination does sometimes occur in restaurants or along the factory production line, so the absolute safest course of action is to buy only certified gluten-free coffee, creamer and flavorings to prepare your morning cup of joe at home.

That being said, ordering coffee in a restaurant or local coffee shop carries minimal risk of cross-contamination. Communicate your needs when ordering, and order smart! Black coffee with gluten-free additions should meet your gluten-free dietary needs and leave you feeling energized for the day ahead.

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *