Looking for a complete Starbucks gluten-free menu? You’re in the right place! This post covers everything you want to know about dining gluten-free at Starbucks.

close up shot of 2 starbucks drinks with text overlay
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!

Starbucks: at this point, it’s a national institution! Whether you crave a daily latte, an occasional Frappuccino, or a seasonal hot chocolate, there is something for everyone at America’s most popular coffee shop.

So if you have Celiac disease or a gluten allergy, you probably want to know: what’s gluten-free at Starbucks?

In this post, I’ll fill you in on everything you need to know about eat at Starbucks with gluten food allergies. Keep reading to find out what’s safe to eat, what’s totally off-limits, and what’s somewhere in between.

Gluten-Free Menu Starbucks

If you’re a fan of Starbucks, we have good news and bad news: you can safely enjoy a few drink and food options — but it’s really important to take caution when ordering.

The Starbucks website warns that many of the drinks have the risk of cross-contamination with gluten during the blending process, and most of the items on the official Starbucks menu do not include allergen information on the ingredient lists.

In 2018, the company website released an allergens menu that stated: WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT ANY OF OUR BEVERAGES ARE FREE FROM ALLERGENS (INCLUDING MILK, EGGS, SOYA, NUTS, PEANUTS, GLUTEN AND OTHERS) AS WE USE SHARED EQUIPMENT TO STORE, PREPARE AND SERVE THEM.

With that in mind, here are some Starbucks drinks and food items that are usually safe to enjoy on a gluten free diet:

  • Black coffee
  • Plain espresso or tea
  • Regular latte or cappuccino
  • Gluten-free marshmallow dream bar
  • Bottled drinks (like Evolution fruit juice, or Starbucks bottled Frappuccino)
  • Any packaged snacks with a gluten-free label

Gluten-Free Drinks Starbucks

Generally, the more flavors you add to your Starbucks drink, the greater the risk of cross-contamination with gluten products.

If you want to play it safe, order a plain drink.

Here are a few options that have a low risk of gluten contamination:

  • Plain coffee
  • Plain cappuccino
  • Plain flat white
  • Plain latte
  • Plain espresso
  • Plain black tea
  • Plain green tea
  • Plain hot chocolate

Certain flavorings and toppings contain gluten (like java chips and a few types of sprinkles), so avoid adding these to your Starbucks drink.

Though Starbucks milk and soy milk are gluten-free, the milk frother used for mixing is also used in other drinks, and may present the risk of cross-contamination.

Use the Starbucks Website

If you’re ok with drinks that are not certified gluten-free, but don’t have any gluten containing ingredient, I suggest using the Starbucks website to look of the ingredients of the item you want to order.

All of the ingredients for each drink are listed on the starbucks website. For example, here are the ingredients for the Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino® (which is NOT gluten-free) vs. the Peppermint Mocha Frappuccino®.

For more gluten-free restaurant guides, check out Chick-Fil-A gluten-free, Wendy’s gluten-free, Chipotle gluten-free, Panera gluten-free, Taco Bell gluten-free and Jersey Mike’s gluten-free.

You also might like these articles on is boba gluten-free, is coffee gluten-free, gluten-free hot chocolate, dairy-free hot chocolate and dairy-free eggnog.

Gluten-Free Starbucks Frappucinos

Frappucnios are probably the trickest thing to order gluten-free at Starbucks. Keep in mind Starbucks does not certify any of their blended drinks are gluten-free. This is because cross-contamination can occur from shared blenders/equipment.

With that said, here are the frappucinos with no gluten-containing ingredients according to the Starbucks website.

Frappucinos with no gluten-containing ingredients

  • Peppermint Mocha Frappuccino®
  • Pistachio Frappuccino®
  • Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino®
  • Caramel Brulée Frappuccino®
  • Chestnut Praline Frappuccino® Blended
  • White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino®
  • Vanilla Bean Crème Frappuccino®
  • Matcha Crème Frappuccino®
  • Chai Crème Frappuccino®
  • Strawberry Crème Frappuccino®
  • Caramel Ribbon Crunch Crème Frappuccino®
  • Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Crème Frappuccino®
  • Chestnut Praline Crème Frappuccino®
  • Caramel Brulée Crème Frappuccino®
  • Peppermint White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino®
  • Peppermint Mocha Crème Frappuccino®
  • Pistachio Crème Frappuccino®
  • Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Frappuccino®
  • Caramel Ribbon Crunch Frappuccino®
  • Espresso Frappuccino®
  • Caffè Vanilla Frappuccino®
  • Caramel Frappuccino®
  • Coffee Frappuccino®
  • Mocha Frappuccino®
  • White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino®

NOTE: I’ve seen it said that starbucks caramel syrup contains gluten. As of 2024 these are the ingredients for the caramel frappucino. While not certified gluten-free, there are no gluten-containing ingredients.

Frappucinos that DO Contain Gluten

  • Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino® (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino® (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Chocolate Cookie Crumble Crème Frappuccino® (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino® (contains malt extract)
  • Java Chip Frappuccino® (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino® (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)

It may seem surprising that the sugar cookie almondmilk frappuccino has no gluten-containing ingredients, while the toasted white chocolate mocha frappuccino does. Here are the ingredient lists for reference.

Starbucks Gluten-Free Hot Coffees

While not certified gluten-free, all of the following hot coffees do not include any gluten-containing ingredients.

  • Caffè Americano
  • Veranda Blend®
  • Caffè Misto
  • Featured Starbucks® Dark Roast Coffee
  • Cappuccino
  • Espresso
  • Espresso Con Panna
  • Flat White
  • Honey Almondmilk Flat White
  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Espresso Macchiato

Lattes

While not certified gluten-free, all of the following lattes do not include any gluten-containing ingredients.

  • Caffè Latte
  • Pistachio Latte
  • Caramel Brulée Latte
  • Chestnut Praline Latte
  • Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Latte
  • Cinnamon Dolce Latte
  • Starbucks® Blonde Vanilla Latte

You also might like this recipe for chai tea latte!

Mochas

While not certified gluten-free, all of the following mochas do not include any gluten-containing ingredients.

  • Peppermint Mocha
  • Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha
  • White Chocolate Mocha
  • Caffè Mocha
  • NOT THE Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)

Toasted White Chocolate Mocha

The Toasted White Chocolate Mocha DOES contain gluten. Just like the frappucino, the holiday sugar sparkles contain non-gf oat flour and malt extract.

More Starbucks Gluten-Free Hot Drinks

All of Starbucks hot chocolates do not contain gluten except for the toasted white chocolate flavor. The caramel apple spice, steamed apple juice and milk steamers are also free of gluten ingredients.

Here are the ingredients for the caramel apple spice hot drink.

Starbucks Gluten-Free Teas

While not certified gluten-free, all of the following teas do not include any gluten-containing ingredients.

  • Royal English Breakfast Tea + Latte
  • Teavana® London Fog Tea Latte
  • Earl Grey Tea
  • Emperor’s Clouds & Mist®
  • Matcha Tea Latte
  • Honey Citrus Mint Tea
  • Jade Citrus Mint®
  • Mint Majesty®
  • Peach Tranquility®

As someone who has celiac disease, I’ve been just fine having tea from Starbucks. I particularly love the Honey Mint Citrus Tea (aka medicine ball!).

Starbucks Gluten-Free Cold Drinks

close up shot of starbucks pink drink in hand in front of steering wheel

While not certified gluten-free, all of the following cold drinks do not include any gluten-containing ingredients.

  • Iced Peppermint Mocha
  • Iced White Chocolate Mocha
  • Iced Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha
  • Iced Caffè Mocha
  • Pistachio Cream Cold Brew
  • Salted Caramel Cream Cold Brew
  • Irish Cream Cold Brew
  • Starbucks® Cold Brew Coffee
  • Vanilla Sweet Cream Cold Brew
  • Starbucks® Pink Drink

You also might like this Starbucks Pink Drink recipe!

Gluten-Free Cold Drinks

All of the iced shaken espressos, iced flat whites, iced lattes, iced mochas and Starbucks Refresher drinks (EXCEPT the iced toasted white chocolate mocha and chocolate cream cold brew) do not include and gluten-containing ingredients.

Cold drinks that DO Contain Gluten

  • Iced Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Chocolate Cream Cold Brew (contains natural malt flavor from barley)

Starbucks Gluten-Free Food

I’ll be honest — if you’re in the mood for tasty baked goods, the Starbucks gluten-free menu isn’t very promising. Your options will definitely be limited, since most of the bakery’s unpackaged products contain wheat flour.

Starbucks doesn’t have many gluten-free savory items, either. Though they did release a gluten-free breakfast sandwich a few years ago, they discontinued the item due to low sales.

Still, there are a few gluten-free food options to choose from at Starbucks.

Here are your options:

  • Marshmallow dream bar
  • Deluxe fruit blend salad
  • KIND Bars
  • Hippeas chickpea chips
  • Justin’s peanut butter cups

Are Starbucks Egg Bites Gluten-Free?

Starbucks egg bites are free of gluten-containing ingredients. They contain egg and milk. The company reports that they are “free of added gluten”, but they are not certified gluten-free.

Every person has a different level of sensitivity, but I eat Starbucks gluten-free egg bites with no problems. Here is the ingredient list for the Bacon & Gruyère Egg Bites.

Starbucks Gluten-Containing Items to Avoid

Now that you know some of the safest Starbucks options for a gluten-free diet, let’s talk about which menu items to avoid.

The following items are known to contain gluten ingredients:

  • Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino® (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino® (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Chocolate Cookie Crumble Crème Frappuccino® (cookie topping contains wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino® (contains malt extract)
  • Java Chip Frappuccino® (frappuccino chips contain wheat flour)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Toasted White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino® (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Iced Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (holiday sugar sparkles contain oat flour and malt extract)
  • Chocolate Cream Cold Brew (contains natural malt flavor from barley)Items from the bakery case
  • Packaged foods (that don’t have a gluten-free label)
  • Java chips (and the Java Chip Frappuccino)

Are Starbucks Bottled Drinks Gluten-Free?

It depends. Some Starbucks bottled drinks are gluten-free, while others aren’t. Luckily, you’ll have an easy time discerning between the two: just look for a gluten-free label, or read the ingredient list and look out for gluten ingredients.

Starbucks brand bottled drinks are made by PepsiCo, and many of these drinks are gluten-free (even if their freshly mixed counterparts are not).

Here are a few Starbucks bottled drinks that are known to be gluten-free:

  • Bottled water (most brands)
  • Evolution brand fruit juice
  • Bottled Starbucks Frappuccino
  • Bottled Starbucks Doubleshot
  • Bottled Starbucks Doubleshot Energy

Title

FAQs

IS STARBUCKS COFFEE GLUTEN-FREE?

It depends. While Starbucks does not claim any drinks are certified gluten-free, many of their hot and cold drinks are free from gluten-containing ingredients. Starbucks plain coffee does not contain gluten. There is always a risk of cross contamination with gluten products when you order a flavored, blended drink.

IS STARBUCKS OAT MILK GLUTEN-FREE?

Starbucks claims to use Oatly milk, which is certified gluten-free. However, it has been reported they often use different oat milk brands such as Dream Oat Beverage, which is not certified gluten-free. To be safe, ask your barista which brand of oat milk they use at the location you visit. You also might like this article on is oat milk gluten-free.

Can celiacs drink Starbucks?

Yes, people with Celiac disease can drink Starbucks coffee — but it’s important to order with caution. All Starbucks drinks present the risk of cross-contamination, and some flavored drinks contain gluten ingredients.

Why did Starbucks discontinue gluten-free?

Starbucks reportedly discontinued its gluten-free egg sandwich in 2018 due to low sales.

Is the pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks gluten-free?

While not certified gluten-free, the pumpkin spice latte is free from any gluten-containing ingredients. Not that some of Starbucks’ seasonal syrups (such as the spiced apple drizzle) contain gluten, so always be sure to check with the barista.

IS STARBUCKS OATMEAL GLUTEN-FREE?

No, Starbucks oatmeal is not certified gluten-free. While it does not have any gluten-containing ingredients, it is not safe for those with celiac disease.

Is Starbucks Hot Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Plain hot chocolate is part the Starbucks gluten-free menu. Most syrups including peppermint and white chocolate syrup do not contain gluten. However java chips and other seasonal ingredients are not gluten-free. Be sure to check the Starbucks websites for individual ingredient lists.

Is the starbucks pink drink gluten-free?

Yes! The Starbucks Pink Drink contains a strawberry acai base, coconut milk and freeze-dried strawberries. So it’s also dairy-free!

The Bottom Line

Starbucks doesn’t guarantee that any of its drinks are gluten-free, since they are made using shared equipment.

Adding flavorings and toppings can be riskier, since some Starbucks seasonal syrups and java chips contain gluten.

Steer clear of the gluten-containing items above. Still, many people following a gluten-free diet are able to safely enjoy drinks at Starbucks.

I personally the Honey Citrus Mint Tea, Starbucks Pink Drink and hot chocolate! Cheers!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I'm Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I'm here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Comments

    1. Hi LS, it seems like a plain latte macchiato would be gluten-free as it should just include espresso and milk. If adding flavorings or toppings, there would be risk of gluten in those ingredients. We hope this helps!

  1. Why not mention the Gluten Dude app that leads you to truly gluten free restaurants such as 100% GF restaurants (that offer only GF food)?

    1. Yes! There are no gluten-containing ingredients in the chai latte from what I can see on the Starbucks website.

  2. It would be helpful if you actually had this info in a pdf or some other way that it could be carried on a phone for reference when traveling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *