Cool Whip is the perfect topper for fruit salads, hot chocolate, and ice cream sundaes. But is it gluten-free? We’re here with good news!

overhead shot of cool whip with strawberries with text overlay with text "is cool whip gluten-free"


 

Who doesn’t love Cool Whip, the imitation whipped cream that is almost as American as the apple pie it complements so well? Created by a food scientist in 1966, Cool Whip is now owned by Kraft Heinz and easy to find in any grocery store freezer aisle.

The famous whipped topping is popular for its creamy texture and ease of use- simply let it thaw in the fridge and it’s ready to eat. Plus, Cool Whip is much lower in fat and calories than the traditional heavy whipping cream used to top our favorite desserts. 

But if you’re following a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering: Is Cool Whip gluten-free?

SHORT ANSWER: YES!

YES, Cool Whip is gluten-free! Although it does not carry a gluten-free certification on the label, Cool Whip doesn’t contain any sources of gluten. In addition, Kraft Heinz states that cross-contamination with gluten has not occurred during the manufacturing of Cool Whip products.

Table of Contents

Is Cool Whip Gluten Free?

According to the Kraft Heinz website, “When labeling products, we consider- and label for- all possible sources of the nine major food allergens recognized by the FDA. These are eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts, wheat, and sesame.”

On the Cool Whip nutrition label, milk is the only major allergen listed. Because wheat is not mentioned, and Kraft Foods is reportedly thorough in their allergen screening, we can assume that Cool Whip is indeed gluten-free.

All varieties of Cool Whip are gluten-free, including the following:

  • Original
  • Lite
  • Extra Creamy
  • Sugar Free
  • Fat Free

Whether you have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, or a wheat allergy, Cool Whip can be a gluten-free addition to your diet.

For more articles on gluten-free living, check out is boba gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-free, is nutella gluten-free, gluten-free oreos, are macarons gluten-free and are oats gluten-free.

You also might like these posts on does mayo have dairy, gluten-free cornflakes, gluten-free graham crackers, gluten-free hot chocolate and gluten-free cereal.

Cool Whip Ingredients

These are the ingredients present in a tub of Original Cool Whip:

  • Water
  • Corn syrup
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils)
  • Skim milk
  • Light cream
  • Sodium caseinate (from milk)
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • Xanthan and guar gums
  • Modified food starch
  • Polysorbate 60
  • Sorbitan monostearate
  • Sodium polyphosphate
  • Beta carotene (color)

In the allergy declaration, milk is the only one of the 9 most common allergens that is present.

Try topping one of these gluten-free desserts with cool whip.

You also might like these collections of gluten-free thanksgiving recipes, gluten-free thanksgiving desserts, gluten-free pie recipes and gluten-free Christmas desserts.

cool whip with strawberry being dipped

Is Cool Whip Dairy Free?

Cool Whip is sometimes referred to as a “non-dairy whipped topping,” but it actually does contain milk, as stated in the nutrition facts. All types of Cool Whip (Original, Sugar Free, Fat Free, Extra Creamy, and Lite) contain milk. For example, Original Cool Whip contains skim milk, light cream, and sodium caseinate, which are all dairy milk products.

For a dairy-free alternative to Cool Whip, look for Truwhip Vegan or So Delicious brand’s Cocowhip Original or Cocowhip Light.

Is Cool Whip Vegan?

In order for Cool Whip to be considered vegan, it would have to be free from all ingredients derived from animals. However, Cool Whip does contain milk ingredients, so it cannot be considered vegan.

For vegan alternatives to Cool Whip, check out Truwhip Vegan or So Delicious’ Cocowhip Original or Cocowhip Light. (Cocowhip is perfect in our amazing Dairy-Free Banana Cream Pie!)

FAQs

what cool whip is gluten-free?

All sizes and varieties of Cool Whip are gluten-free! This includes Cool Whip Original, Cool Whip Lite, Cool Whip Sugar Free, Cool Whip Extra Creamy, and Cool Whip Fat Free.

Cool Whip does not contain gluten ingredients, and Kraft Heinz reports no risk of cross-contamination with gluten during the preparation of this product.

does kraft cool whip have gluten?

Cool Whip from Kraft Heinz does not contain gluten. It is free from gluten-containing ingredients, and it is also free from cross-contamination with gluten ingredients during manufacturing.

All sizes and types of Cool Whip (Original, Lite, Sugar Free, Extra Creamy, and Fat Free) are gluten-free and safe to eat if you have celiac disease.

is great value cool whip gluten-free?

Great Value Whipped Topping, a frozen dessert topping akin to Cool Whip, is also gluten-free. Its main ingredients are water, hydrogenated vegetable oil, corn syrup, and high-fructose corn syrup. As far as allergens, this topping contains milk and may contain traces of soy.

Great Value is sold exclusively in Walmart stores.

does reddi whip have gluten?

Reddi-wip does not contain gluten. Its ingredients include cream, water, sugar, corn syrup, nonfat milk, mono- and diglycerides, natural flavor, carrageenan, and nitrous oxide (a propellant).

Of the 9 major allergens, Original Reddi-wip contains only milk. But if you’re looking for a dairy-free alternative, Reddi-wip now makes almond and coconut varieties.

The Bottom Line

Cool Whip is a staple in the freezer aisles of grocery stores all over the United States. Although it is not certified gluten-free, we can see by the ingredient list that gluten-containing ingredients are not present.

Kraft Heinz also states that they are diligent about finding and reporting any cross-contamination with allergens that their products might undergo. Because the only allergen listed on the Cool Whip ingredient label is milk, we know that Cool Whip is in fact gluten-free.

Cool Whip is, however, a dairy product. If you’re searching for a whipped topping that is both gluten-free and dairy-free, turn to Truwhip Vegan or So Delicious’ Cocowhip or Cocowhip Light.

Need a few ideas for how to use that creamy tub of Cool Whip? Try a dollop atop our gluten-free angel food cake, mix it into a fresh fruit salad, or layer it into a yogurt parfait!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *