So you want to know: Are marshmallows gluten-free? Check out this post to get an in-depth answer. You’ll have greater peace of mind next time you want to stock up on gluten-free snacks!
If you’re making s’mores or rice crispy treats, marshmallows are a must-have ingredient. They give so many desserts that fun, fluffy, squishy texture. And even a simple roasted marshmallow is perfectly delicious on its own.
But if you have Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, you certainly might be wondering: Are marshmallows gluten-free?
Good news: Yes! Most popular brands of marshmallows are one of those naturally gluten-free foods you can confidently reach for on the grocery store shelf.
With most regular marshmallows, you also won’t have to worry about cross contamination or traces of gluten.
However, a few marshmallows brands are made with wheat starch or glucose syrup. These products aren’t gluten-free, so it’s always smart to check the label!
Are Jet-Puffed Marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Yes, Kraft Jet-Puffed marshmallows are gluten-free. Although the package doesn’t label them as gluten free, the ingredients list do not list anything that contains gluten.
Kraft also reports that there is no risk of cross contamination in the manufacturing process. This means you can safely eat this sweet treat if you’re on a gluten-free diet!
One of the great ways to enjoy Kraft marshmallows is by making my favorite gluten-free Rice Krispie treats recipe! Grab your favorite gluten-free crisp rice cereal, vanilla extract, butter, and enjoy!
Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten-Free?
Marshmallow fluff doesn’t contain any ingredients with gluten. However, some brands of marshmallow fluff (such as Marshmallow fluff doesn’t contain any ingredients with gluten.
However, some brands of marshmallow fluff (such as Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme) have a high risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing foods and may contain more than 20 ppm of gluten.
Are Marshmallows Dairy-Free?
Yes—but they are not vegan. This is because most popular brands of marshmallows contain gelatin.
If you’re looking for a great brand of vegan gluten-free marshmallows, try Dandies marshmallows!
Yes, if you have Celiacs disease or a gluten intolerance, you can eat almost all major brands of marshmallows sold on grocery store shelves in the U.S.—even if they aren’t labeled gluten free.
Yes, as with most popular brand of marshmallows in the United States, Campfire brand marshmallows are naturally gluten-free. They are also dairy-free, nut-free, and allergen friendly.
Yes, Walmart’s Great Value brand marshmallows are gluten-free. The major ingredients list includes corn syrup, sugar, modified cornstarch, and gelatin.
The Bottom Line
Yes, almost all traditional marshmallows made in the United States are free of any gluten ingredients and considered gluten-free—even if they’re not labeled as such.
They’re one of those popular processed foods you can enjoy without having to scrutinize the ingredient list too much. So stock up on gluten-free graham crackers and fire up some s’mores!
However, keep in mind that some brands of marshmallow fluff do pose a risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains and may have a small presence of gluten.
For more gluten-free products check out are starburst gluten-free, are macarons gluten-free, are doritos gluten-free, is naan gluten-free and are french fries gluten-free.
Oh no! I use (used, I suppose…) this marshmallow crème to make fudge. Does anyone have a recommendation for an alternative?