Oreos are a delightful blend of chocolate and creme, and certainly milk’s favorite cookie. But are they gluten-free? We have all the details about this iconic treat.

oreo packages on white background


Oreos: Crunchy, creamy, chocolatey, delicious. If you’re new to gluten-free eating, you may be wondering if this classic treat can still be a part of your life. Are Oreos gluten-free?

Short Answer: No… but also yes! Traditional Oreos do contain wheat flour, but Gluten-Free Oreos use gluten free flour. Gluten-Free Oreos are available in original and double stuf, and just recently, gluten-free mint Oreos have become a permanent addition to the lineup!

Table of Contents

Are Oreos Gluten-Free?

There are many varieties of Oreos, with new specialty flavors coming out all the time, and most of them contain gluten. However, Oreo introduced a gluten-free variety (original and double stuf) in 2021, and they are absolutely delicious! As of January 2023, mint Oreos are available gluten-free as well.

Gluten-free Oreos contain white rice flour and whole oat flour rather than wheat flour. Here is the full list of ingredients for gluten-free original Oreos:

  • Sugar
  • White rice flour
  • Tapioca starch
  • Palm oil
  • Canola oil
  • Whole oat flour
  • Cornstarch
  • Cocoa (processed with alkali)
  • Invert sugar
  • Soy lecithin
  • Baking soda
  • Salt
  • Xanthan gum
  • Chocolate
  • Artificial flavor

Gluten-free Oreos do contain soy, but they are free from dairy and all other common allergens.

For more articles on gluten-free living, check out are macarons gluten-free, is nutella gluten-free, are m&ms gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free, is cool whip gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free.

You also might like this oreo popcorn, gluten-free oreo balls or roundup of gluten-free desserts!

You could use gluten-free oats and oreos to make these oreo overnight oats.

close up of oreos in package on white background

What Are Oreos?

Oreos debuted in 1912, a National Biscuit Company (later abbreviated to Nabisco) copycat creation in response to Sunshine Biscuit’s Hydrox cookie (which was truly the original chocolate sandwich cookie). Oreos (and Hydrox) are composed of two crunchy chocolate wafers with creamy white filling in between.

The Oreo recipe has changed a little over the years. The lard once used to make Oreos was replaced with partially hydrogenated vegetable oil, which was later replaced with non-hydrogenated vegetable oil to ditch the trans fat.

Throughout the years, Oreos have expanded from the original to include double stuf, mega stuf, most stuf, thins, minis, and Cakesters. They have also released MANY specialty flavors–some of which have come to stay (golden Oreos, mint Oreos)–but most of which are available as limited editions.

Today, the beloved sandwich cookies are sold in more than 100 countries. They still carry the Nabisco label, but Nabisco is now owned by Mondelez International, a division of Kraft Foods.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Dairy-Free?

All Oreos, including gluten-free Oreos, are dairy-free! They do not contain any animal products, so Oreos are considered vegan as well.

Soy is the only common allergen present in gluten-free Oreos.

Were Oreos Always Gluten-Free?

No, gluten-free Oreos did not become available until 2021. Today, most types and flavors of Oreos do contain wheat flour (and thus gluten). Look for packages specifically labeled gluten-free. Gluten-free offerings include original Oreos, double stuf, and mint.

Gluten-free Oreos are certified gluten-free, meaning that they meet the FDA standard of containing less than 20 ppm of gluten. If you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, Oreo gluten-free cookies are safe to eat.

You also might like this gluten-free oreo cheesecake.

A close-up of a slice of cake

You might like this recipe for gluten-free ice cream cake that uses gluten-free oreos!

What’s the Difference between Gluten-Free Oreos and Regular Oreos?

Gluten-free Oreos taste a lot like regular Oreos. The flavor is very similar, they both have the same crunch, and both are great with milk (dairy or otherwise). There are some key differences in the ingredients, though.

Original Oreos are made with unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour which contains gluten). Gluten-free Oreos contain no wheat; they are made using white rice flour and whole oat flour. Tapioca starch is also added to gluten-free Oreos to achieve just the right texture.

It is also interesting to note that original Oreos contain sugar and high fructose corn syrup, while gluten-free Oreos contain sugar and invert sugar as sweeteners.

Brands of Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies

Oreos aren’t the only gluten free chocolate wafer cookies you’ll find on your grocery store shelves. Look for these brands as well:

You might also like this recipe for homemade gluten-free oreos!

overhead of gluten free oreo pie crust in a glass pie plate

Use gluten-free oreos to make oreo rice krispies treats, gluten-free oreo crust or gluten-free cookies and cream cupcakes! This gluten-free Christmas dessert also has an oreo crust.

It’s delicious with this gluten-free peanut butter pie. You also might like this article on is peanut butter gluten-free.


Are Gluten-free oreos vegan?

Yes, gluten-free Oreos are vegan. They do not contain dairy or any other animal product.

Gluten-free Oreos consist of sugar, white rice flour, tapioca starch, palm oil, canola oil, whole oat flour, cornstarch, real cocoa (processed with alkali), invert sugar, soy lecithin, baking soda, salt, xanthan gum, chocolate, and artificial flavor.

can celiacs eat gluten-free oreos?

Yes, celiacs can eat gluten-free Oreos! Gluten-free Oreos are certified gluten-free, meaning that they meet the FDA standard of under 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

As of January 2023, there are three types of gluten-free Oreos: original, double stuff, and mint. All are satisfying and delicious!

are all oreos gluten-free?

No, not all Oreos are gluten-free. In fact, most varieties of Oreos contain wheat flour. If you’re looking for gluten-free Oreos, you’re limited to original, double stuf, and mint.

When you’re grocery shopping in the cookie aisle, gluten-free Oreos will be clearly marked on the package.

are golden oreos gluten-free?

Golden Oreos (made with vanilla cookies rather than chocolate) are not gluten-free. Maybe someday in the future, we’ll see a gluten-free version of Golden Oreos! Right now, Oreo’s gluten-free offerings include original, double stuf, and mint.

are gluten-free oreos good?

Oreo lovers rejoice! Nabisco really nailed the recipe: Gluten-free Oreos taste and crunch almost exactly like regular Oreos. They even pair perfectly with milk, just like the traditional recipe. They are a delicious gluten free treat for those with celiac disease or anyone else following a gluten-free diet.

Look for original, double stuf, and now mint gluten-free Oreo cookies. And if you’re in a baking mood, try out our recipe for Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Pie or Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cake, both featuring gluten-free Oreos!

The Bottom Line

Not all oreos are gluten-free, but there are several gluten-free oreo versions available. As of January 2023, there are three types of gluten-free Oreos: original, double stuff, and mint. All are satisfying and delicious!

Always check the label and look for products that are certified gluten-free. I hope this article helped answer any of your questions about gluten-free oreos. Enjoy!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *