Have you ever wondered if oat milk is gluten-free, because I sure have! This article will give you all of the information you will need about finding gluten-free oat milk so you can eat or drink without having to worry about accidentally having gluten.

different brands of oat milk in a row


Oat milk has become more popular over the past few years as a substitute in baking and drinks. Many people use oat milk in lattes for a dairy-free option. But, is it a good gluten-free option?

Straight to the point, oat milk is gluten-free sometimes, so keep reading to know what to look for to find gluten-free oat milk.

Is Oat Milk gluten-free?

Sometimes. I know, I know, that is a frustrating answer, but it is true. Oat milk is sometimes gluten-free, depending on how the oats are processed.

Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Those with a gluten sensitivity or allergy need to avoid eating or drinking anything that contains gluten or they will become sick. So, it is important to ensure all products those with an allergy partake are gluten-free.

Oats are technically gluten-free, but are often cross-contaminated during production, so they are easily mixed up with gluten. The key is finding gluten-free oat milk. There are brands out there that use certified gluten-free oats, so those are the brands you want to use.

Are oats gluten-free or not?

Yes…and no. Oats are a gluten-free grain, so technically yes, but they are frequently cross-contaminated with gluten, so sometimes no. It all depends on how it is processed.

In the farming industry in North America, particularly in the United States, oats are often mixed around with wheat gluten during production. Some may think that is not a big deal, but those with a severe allergy, just a little bit of gluten can cause a lot of trouble.

There are gluten-free brands of oats though, so do not fear. You just have to be willing to look for them. Fun fact: oat milk contains 20% of your daily vitamin d needs!

For more articles check out is buckwheat gluten-free, is brown rice gluten-free, is baking powder gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free.

You also might like does mayo have dairy, are french fries gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-free, are doritos gluten-free and are grits gluten-free!

You also might like these articles is coffee gluten-free, is boba gluten-free on Chick-fil-A Gluten-Free!

How do I identify gluten free oats?

Those with celiac disease know how frustrating it can be when it comes to finding gluten free products. Whole grain oats are naturally gluten-free, but to ensure there is no risk of cross-contamination, you will want to look out for certified gluten-free oats.

There will usually be a label on the oats saying “gluten-free” on the front. If you look at the ingredients on the back, there will be allergen statements, listing if there are allergen ingredients, but you want to make sure there is a specific label that says gluten-free.

Check out this full post on are oats gluten-free!

You also might like this article on Starbucks gluten-free.

glass of oat milk next to carton of oat milk

How to use oat milk

Oat milk has many uses. It is a popular alternative to regular milk, so you can use it in cereal, smoothies, or coffee. Oat milk lattes are quite popular at the moment, as they are perfect for those who are looking to lower their dairy intake or lactose intolerant.

Oat milk is quite popular when it comes to coffee and will mostly likely be found in your favorite coffee shop. It is very creamy on its own, so it can be used as a creamer in coffee, but there are also oat milk coffee creamers. There are also oat milk ice cream options which is a great alternative to other ice creams with dairy milk.

For a dairy-free diet, oat milk is a great option. It helps lower cholesterol levels and is a perfect alternative for regular cow’s milk. Other milk alternatives include almond milk, coconut milk, soy milk, rice milk, and pea milk.

You can also have homemade oat milk, whether by making it yourself or buying it from a local farmers market. If making it on your own, you will need a blender, nut milk bag or strainer, and of course gluten-free oats. The final product can be grainy if you do not strain it twice.

Here is a list of many ways to use oat milk in your diet:

  • Cereal: Pour it over your cereal, just like you would with cow’s milk. It most likely will add a sweeter taste to your cereal.
  • Smoothies: For a thicker and creamier smoothie, add a little bit of oat milk to your high speed blender before mixing up your smoothie.
  • Coffee: As mentioned above, oat milk is very popular in the coffee community at the moment.
  • Teas: Adding oat milk to tea is a great option because it adds a sweeter flavor to your tea.
  • Ice cream: There are a ton of oat milk ice cream flavors out there that provide a dairy-free option for ice cream.
  • Baking: Oat milk can be switched out with cow’s milk in any baking recipe 1:1. The dessert will be lighter, but it will still be delicious.
  • Cooking: Just like baking, oat milk can be swapped with cow’s milk 1:1. Sometimes there are issues with separation with oat milk, so keep an eye on it.
  • Consumed straight: Depending on your preference, you can drink oat milk on its own. It is a bit thicker and creamier, but it is still delicious.

Brands of gluten-free oat milk

Even though oats are technically gluten-free, if you are on a strict gluten-free diet, you should ensure that you are purchasing gluten-free oat milk products. Here are a few gluten-free oat milk brands that you can find at any grocery store for you to try out:

  • Oatly is a great gluten-free oat milk brand that offers many oat milk products. You can find it at pretty much every grocery store, but they also offer some products on their website.
  • Planet Oat a variety of gluten-free oat milk flavors, including unsweetened oat milk.
  • Califia Farms is not only gluten-free, it is vegan, soy free, and kosher.
  • Elmhurst offers oat milk that does not have any preservatives, which can be a complaint about oat milk products.
  • Chobani Oat offers gluten-free oat milk and some gluten-free coffee creamers.

Try using oat milk to make dairy-free hot chocolate or dairy-free eggnog!


Should we consume oat milk on a regular basis?

Oat milk actually lowers your risk for heart disease if you drink it every day. But, too much of something is never good. Oat milk has added sugar, making it high in sugar, so you should be mindful of that. The United States Department of Agriculture recommends that adults should have three servings of dairy products per day, so that is another thing to note when considering when you are having oat milk.

Why has oat milk become so popular lately?

Oat milk is low in allergens, so many people are liking to use it. It is safe for those with a gluten intolerance, nut allergy, or lactose intolerant. Oat milk also has a creamy texture, making it popular with baristas and coffee fans. Another thing that is great about oat milk is that is can help lower cholesterol.

Is oat milk good for you?

In moderation, yes. Oat milk has a lot of nutrients, but it also has more calories and carbs compared with almond milk, soy, and cow’s milk. It does have less protein than soy and dairy milk though. It can also help with weight loss because it is high in fiber so it will help you feel fuller longer, reducing the desire to snack. Oat milk also has a lot of preservatives to increase shelf life, so it all depends on what is best for your body.


Oat milk is sometimes gluten-free. It is naturally gluten-free, but the way it is processed exposes it to cross-contamination with gluten. There are gluten-free options available, you just have to make sure it says gluten-free on the label.

More Articles on Gluten-Free

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *