Do egg noodles contain gluten? You’re not the first to ask. Check out this blog post for everything you need to know!
Egg noodles are a key ingredient to several classic international dishes: Chinese chow mein, German spaetzle, and Russian stroganoff, just to name a few. These soft, tasty noodles are definitely a crowd-pleaser. But are they gluten-free?
Short Answer: No, egg noodles are not usually gluten-free.
Unfortunately for those of us following a gluten-free diet, regular egg noodles are made with semolina from durum wheat, which is high in gluten.
However, there are gluten-free alternatives.
For more articles on gluten-free living, check out are rice noodles gluten-free, is soy sauce gluten-free, is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free, is chicken broth gluten-free and is brown rice gluten-free.
Table of Contents
Are Egg Noodles Gluten-Free?
Most of the egg noodles served in restaurants or available for sale in grocery stores do contain gluten, as they are made from wheat.
For example, No Yolks, a popular brand of egg noodles, lists the following ingredients in their Broad Noodles:
- Semolina (wheat)
- Durum flour (wheat)
- Dried egg white
- Ferrous sulfate (iron)
- Thiamin mononitrate
- Folic acid
Semolina and durum flour are high in gluten, so these classic egg noodles should not be consumed by anyone with celiac disease or a non-celiac gluten intolerance.
On the other hand, some companies do sell gluten-free egg noodles. They will be more difficult to find on grocery store shelves, but they are always available to order online. Read on for a list of gluten-free egg noodle brands!
You also might like this recipe for gluten-free egg noodles!
What Are Egg Noodles?
Like other forms of pasta, egg noodles are made from rolled, unleavened dough, and they are prepared by boiling. Egg noodles can be cooked fresh, or they can be dried and packaged so that they are shelf stable. (Dried, packaged noodles will keep longer than fresh noodles, but fresh, homemade noodles are a real treat if you like to make your own pasta!)
Unlike other pastas, egg noodles include egg as one of the main ingredients (along with wheat). Egg noodle recipes may call for whites only, yolks only, or whole eggs. The noodles are typically prepared as long, ribbon-like strips (often flat and wide), and they are served soft, so they are not as chewy as the usual Italian al dente pasta.
In Chinese cuisine, egg noodles are typically long and skinny, and fresh egg noodles may be prepared by boiling or pan frying, depending upon the recipe.
Historically, noodles have been a dietary staple in China for thousands of years; today, wonton noodles, lo mein noodles, and chow mein noodles are popular varieties of Chinese egg noodles enjoyed around the world.
What Noodles Are Gluten-Free?
While traditional egg noodles contain gluten, these types of noodles are usually gluten-free:
- Rice noodles (white rice or brown rice)
- Kelp noodles
- Soba (buckwheat) noodles
- Shirataki noodles
- Glass/Cellophane noodles
- Red lentil pasta
- Chickpea pasta
- Quinoa pasta
- Corn pasta
- Gluten-free blends such as rice and corn
Of course, always check packaging to verify that the noodles you’re buying are certified gluten-free. This means that they meet the FDA standard of less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. They will be safe to eat if you have celiac disease.
Brands of Gluten-Free Egg Noodles
While classic egg noodles are made from semolina and durum wheat, which are high in gluten, there are several brands that sell gluten-free egg noodles. All of the brands listed below sell egg noodles made from gluten free flours, but the precise recipe varies depending upon the manufacturer.
For example, Double Yolk noodles are made from white rice flour, tapioca starch, millet flour, dried egg yolk, xanthan gum, and water. Jovial egg tagliatelle, on the other hand, uses only organic brown rice flour and organic eggs.
Some recipes use only egg whites, some use egg yolks, and others use whole eggs. Nutritional information will vary greatly depending upon these variables.
These brands carry some of the best gluten-free egg noodles:
- Manischewitz gluten free egg noodles (fine, medium, or wide)
- Double Yolk gluten free egg noodles (several options, including a high fiber variety)
- Jovial egg tagliatelle
- Lieber’s egg noodles (thin, wide, and chow mein)
- Beiler’s gluten-free egg noodles (regular or high fiber)
Please note that some of these brands carry both regular and gluten-free egg noodles–make sure you select the gluten-free variety if that’s what you’re going for!
In addition, you may discover that gluten-free egg noodles are hard to find in-store. They are definitely easier to come by online.
No, Chinese egg noodles, like other egg noodles, are not gluten-free. Egg noodles are made from semolina and durum flour, which are high in gluten. There are a few brands that offer thin gluten-free egg noodles, and Lieber’s brand makes gluten-free chow mein egg noodles.
Rice noodles also pair well with Asian dishes, and they are made from gluten-free rice flour, so they are celiac safe.
Most egg noodles are made from semolina and durum wheat flour, which are high in gluten. But here’s the good news: There are a few brands, such as Jovial, Manischewitz, and Double Yolk, that do offer gluten-free egg noodles.
If you’re handy in the kitchen, you can even try making your own gluten-free egg noodles at home!
In some regards, egg noodles could be considered healthier than other pasta. Egg noodles have more calcium, magnesium, iron, phosophorus, niacin, and folate than pasta.
On the other hand, egg noodles also come loaded with more cholesterol and less protein than pasta. When you select gluten-free egg noodles, nutrition content will vary based on the flours and starches used.
No Yolks egg noodles are not gluten-free. No Yolks’ Broad Noodles contain the following ingredients: semolina (wheat), durum flour (wheat), dried egg white, niacin, ferrous sulfate (iron), thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid.
If you are following a gluten-free diet, steer clear of No Yolks and choose a brand of gluten-free egg noodles, or a different type of gluten-free pasta altogether.
The Bottom Line
Egg noodles are wonderful served with olive oil or your favorite sauce. They are a key ingredient in certain ethnic dishes, such as beef stroganoff and chow mein. They make a fine side dish or addition to homemade chicken noodle soup.
However, most store-bought egg noodles are high in gluten because they are made using semolina and durum wheat flour.
If you keep a gluten-free diet and you’re making a pasta dish that calls for egg noodles, look for a brand of gluten-free noodles such as Jovial, Double Yolks, or Manischewitz, or try making your own homemade egg noodles!
Looking for a winning gluten-free egg noodles recipe? Make sure you try our recipe for Gluten-Free Spaetzle (German Egg Noodles)! Easy and delicious, this recipe incorporates a gluten-free flour blend (Bob’s Red Mill brand) and other simple ingredients. Fresh pasta is extra delicious, and preparing your food at home is often the best way to ensure all elements are gluten-free.