We don’t blame you for wondering, “Are French fries are gluten-free?” We’ll give the full scoop on fast food French fries, so you can put the question to rest!

close up image of french fries with text overlay
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!

Whether you eat gluten-free or not, I think we can all agree that French fries are one food that can be hard to pass up. They’re salty and satisfying. A hamburger or greasy diner sandwich is hardly complete without them!

So are French fries gluten-free?

Unfortunately, there’s no quick, definitive answer.

In short, the ingredients for French fries (potatoes, oil, salt) are naturally gluten-free. But many fast food restaurants cook their French fries in oil that is cross-contaminated with foods that contain gluten, meaning their French fries cannot be considered gluten-free.

The only way to ensure French fries are gluten-free is if they are made in a dedicated French fry fryer, which uses separate oil for cooking French fries vs. chicken tenders, hash browns, etc.

You also might like these articles on are tatar tots gluten-free, is ketchup gluten-free, are potatoes gluten-free and are potato chips gluten-free.

Do French Fries have Gluten?

Most French fries are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients, including potatoes, oil, and salt. However, some restaurants cook them in a fryer that is used for other foods that contain gluten (like chicken tenders or nuggets).

These French fries pose a risk for those with gluten dietary restrictions, since some fast food fries could cross-contaminate with gluten.

To ensure French fries are completely gluten-free, they must be made in a dedicated deep fryer that is used only for gluten-free foods.

It’s important to always check with the restaurant to find out if their French fries are gluten-free, or made in a designated fryer.

You also might like these articles on gluten-free alcohol and gluten-free beer.

Who Has Gluten-Free French Fries?

Many fast food restaurants offer gluten-free French fries. This means their fries are made with potatoes, oil, and salt, and made in a dedicated fryer.

However, use of dedicated fryers can vary by location, so it’s always best to confirm before you order.

Here is a list of restaurant fries as gluten-free:

close up basket of french fries on white parchment paper

Are McDonald’s French Fries Gluten-Free?

No, McDonald’s French fries are not gluten-free. They are cooked in a shared fryer and contain additives that include wheat.

According to Burger King’s allergen menu, Burger King French fries are also cooked in a shared fryer, meaning they have a high risk of cross contamination with gluten ingredients. These French fries are not safe for those with gluten food allergies and wheat allergy.

You also might like this article on Wendy’s gluten-free, Taco Bell gluten-free and Chick-Fil-A gluten-free menu options.

Are Sweet Potato Fries Gluten-Free?

Some sweet potato fries may be gluten-free, as long as they’re cooked in a dedicated fryer and do not have any breading or coating. However, many restaurants use a shared fryer and cannot guarantee that their sweet potato fries are gluten-free.

When it comes to fast-food chains, the options for gluten-free sweet potato fries are slim.

But there is some good news! Red Robin lists sweet potato fries as one of their gluten-free items, noting that they are cooked in a dedicated fryer. (But it’s always best to ask the location to confirm.)

If you want to enjoy sweet potato fries at home, you can pick up Ore Ida gluten-free sweet potato fries or Tropicland organic sweet potato fries at the grocery store.

Or make your own roasted sweet potatoes!

Can I Eat French Fries on a Gluten-Free Diet?

Yes, you can eat French fries on a gluten-free diet—as long as you make sure the French fries are cooked in a dedicated fryer and do not contain in breading or additives.

Chick-fil-A, In-N-Out Burger, and Five Guys all cook gluten-free fries in a dedicated fryer, so they are safe to eat.

However, McDonald’s fries and Burger King fries are cooked in a shared fryer, meaning they cannot be considered gluten-free.

You also might like this collection of gluten-free dinner recipes.

Are French Fries Gluten-Free? FAQs

Is there gluten in French fries?

French fries ingredients are naturally free of gluten. However, many French fries cannot safely be considered gluten-free, since they may be cooked in a shared fryer could be a cross-contaminated food.

Who has gluten-free French fries?

Chick-fil-A, In-N-Out Burger, and Five Guys all have gluten-free French fries that are cooked in a separate fryer. McDonald’s and Burger King cook their French fries in a shared fryer, meaning they cannot be considered gluten-free.

What junk food is gluten-free?

Chick-fil-A has gluten-free options, including hash browns, grilled nuggets, and waffle fries. In-N-Out Burger has gluten-free menu items, such as protein-style gluten-free burgers, French fries, and milkshakes. Five Guys also offers gluten-free menu items, like bunless burgers and French fries.

The Bottom Line

Are French fries gluten-free? The answer is: sometimes!

Some restaurants and fast food chains offer gluten-free French fries that are cooked in a dedicated fryer. These French fries are made with potatoes, oil, and salt, and do not contain any additives, bread crumbs, or other coating.

However, many restaurants cook French fries in fryers that are also used to cook chicken nuggets and other gluten products. This creates a high risk of cross-contamination, so these types of French fries are not safe to eat if you have a gluten sensitivity, Celiac disease, or a gluten intolerance.

For more questions about gluten-free products check out these articles for are doritos gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free.

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I'm Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I'm here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook


  1. Some french fries are dipped in batter to make them crispier. The server should know or be able to find out if asked.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *