If you have Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, you may be wondering: Are potatoes gluten-free? Check out the post for a detailed answer!

golden yukon potatoes on wood surface


From mashed potatoes to French fries, potatoes are the foundation of some of the world’s best comfort foods. It’s easy to see why this starchy vegetable is one of many kids’ favorite foods — and many adults too!

There are a million ways to enjoy potatoes. So if you have a gluten allergy, you may be wondering if this popular food is safe for you to eat.

Here’s the scoop: Yes, potatoes are gluten-free and completely safe for those with a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Still, some potato products may be processed in a way that makes them unsafe for those on a gluten-free diet. Keep reading to find out which potato products are gluten-free, and which aren’t.

You also might be interested in are tatar tots gluten-free, are potato chips gluten-free, are french fries gluten-free, are doritos gluten-free, is naan gluten-free and Chick-fil-A gluten-free?

Try these recipes for gluten-free cheesy potatoesgluten-free mashed potatoesgluten-free scalloped potatoes and dairy-free potato soup.

Table of Contents

Quick Answer: Are Potatoes Gluten-Free?

We have great news! Yes, all types of potatoes are gluten-free foods.

Gluten proteins are found in wheat, barley, rye, and a few other types of whole grains. But since potatoes are a vegetable, they’re naturally gluten-free.

In fact, starchy potatoes make great gluten-free alternatives to gluten ingredients like wheat flour. They can be used to thicken soup, make gluten-free gnocchi, or even make potato flour for pizza crust and pie.

Keep in mind, though potatoes are gluten-free in their natural state, that doesn’t mean all food products that contain potatoes are gluten-free. It’s still important to read the ingredients list to make sure you’re buying (or ordering) a gluten-free food.

Which Potatoes Are Not Gluten-Free?

All potatoes are naturally gluten-free—along with all other plain, raw vegetables. Yes, that includes sweet potatoes, Yukon gold, red potatoes, Russet potatoes, and all other varieties of raw potatoes you find at the grocery store.

Still, certain potato dishes may not be gluten-free. Here are some forms of potatoes (or add-ons) to be wary of if you’re on a gluten-free diet:

  • Gravy: Gluten-containing wheat flour is a thickening agent in most gravy.
  • Cheese sauce: Cheese sauce in potato casserole or on top of baked potatoes may be thickened with wheat flour.
  • Instant mashed potatoes: Some packaged instant potatoes may contain gluten. Check the ingredient list to be sure!
  • Potato chips: Most potato chips are gluten-free, but it’s still smart to check the nutrition label. Some potato chips may contain malt vinegar, which contains gluten.
  • French fries: French fries that are made in a shared fryer are at risk of cross contamination, and may contain trace amounts of gluten.
  • Potato bread: Most potato bread contains wheat flour and is not safe for a gluten-free diet.
  • Potato casserole (Funeral potatoes, potatoes au gratin, etc): Potato casseroles are often thickened with wheat flour or are topped with bread crumbs or gluten-containing cereal.

You also might like these articles on is ketchup gluten-free, is butter gluten-free and are mashed potatoes gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Potato Dishes

best potato salad in a bowl

There are many different ways to enjoy potatoes on a gluten-free diet. Hasselback potatoes, potato skins, potato salad, and gluten-free hash is easy to make at home, and many of these common potato recipes are naturally gluten-free.

Here are some gluten-free recipe ideas to inspire you!

You also might like this easy potato soup recipe.

Are Potatoes Gluten-Free? FAQs

Are potato French fries gluten-free?

potatoes, oil, and salt. However, many French fries from fast food restaurants are made in a shared fryer, along with chicken nuggets and hash browns, which are not gluten-free. If you have a gluten allergy, avoid eating French fries that are cooked in a shared fryer.

Are potatoes and vegetables gluten-free?

Yes! All vegetables are naturally gluten-free, including potatoes. Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley.

Are cooked potatoes gluten-free?

Plain cooked potatoes are gluten-free, but potatoes with toppings or additional ingredients may not be. Gravy, cheese sauce, instant mashed potatoes, and potato casserole are likely to be made with gluten-containing wheat all purpose flour or bread crumbs.

The Bottom Line

Are potatoes gluten free?

Yes, plain potatoes are naturally gluten-free and safe to eat if you have wheat allergy or live a gluten free lifestyle.

However, potato dishes like mashed potatoes with gravy, potato au gratin, or instant mashed potatoes may contain wheat flour, so it’s important to read the ingredient list before eating. And fortunately, it’s easy to buy or make a gluten-free version of all potato dishes!

Enjoy your potatoes!

For more gluten-free product information check out are snickers gluten-free, are grits gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free and are french fries gluten-free.

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *