Wondering if Doritos are gluten-free? Good question! The answer depends on a few things. This article will give you the full scoop!

bag of nacho cheese and bag of cool ranch doritos on white background

Doritos are one of those savory snack foods that can really hit the spot. They’re a popular snack that’s bursting with flavor and always crisp and crunchy. Sometimes, there’s simply no replacement! But if you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: Are Doritos gluten-free?

The answer is a bit complicated. Most Doritos flavors at your local grocery store are free of gluten ingredients. However, there is a chance of cross contamination with gluten products in the manufacturing process.

Many Doritos flavors could in fact be free of gluten. But since Frito-Lay does not test every flavor for gluten content, they cannot make a gluten-free claim. It’s likely that Supreme Cheddar, Taco Bell, or Spicy Nachos Doritos are free from gluten – but it cannot be confirmed.

Check out this post to learn more about which Doritos are gluten-free, and which ones aren’t!

Jump to:

Quick Answer: Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

In the United States, most Doritos aren’t officially considered gluten-free, although the listed ingredients are free of gluten. So what’s the catch? Frito-Lay can’t label Doritos as gluten-free because they are sometimes manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten.

Even though there is a thorough cleaning of the lines in between production, there could be trace amounts of gluten on the machines. And since Frito-Lay doesn’t test every Doritos flavor for gluten, they cannot guarantee there is 20 ppm of gluten or less. (This is the FDA’s requirement for calling a product gluten-free.)

So, Doritos are a snack you could consider eating—it just depends on your level of gluten sensitivity.

If you aren’t highly sensitive to gluten, you may decide to give them a try.

If you do have a high sensitivity to gluten, it’s probably better not to take the risk. There’s just no way of knowing for sure the amount of gluten that may be in the particular bag of Doritos.

For more articles check out is buckwheat gluten-freeare snickers gluten-freeis oat milk gluten-freeare french fries gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free.

You also might like is raisin bran gluten-free, are takis gluten-free, are fritos gluten-free, is popcorn gluten-free, are tortilla chips gluten-free and are grits gluten-free!

You also might like thess articles on Taco Bell gluten-free and Chick-fil-A Gluten-Free!

Want a sandwich to go with your chips? Check out this article on Jersey Mikes gluten-free.

bag of nacho cheese and bag of cool ranch doritos on white background

Are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten-Free?

Cool Ranch Doritos are not labeled as gluten-free, even though they aren’t made with any ingredients that contain gluten. As with most flavors of Doritos, there is a chance that Cool Ranch Doritos could cross-contaminate with gluten during the manufacturing process.

Are Nacho Cheese Doritos Gluten-Free?

The original Nacho Cheese flavor of Doritos aren’t technically gluten-free, since there’s a chance that they could cross-contaminate with gluten in the manufacturing process.

However, all of the ingredients in Nacho Cheese Doritos are free of gluten. So if you don’t have an extreme gluten allergy, you may be able to eat them safely. If you’re not sure, it’s best to consult your doctor! Check out this article on are cheetos gluten-free.

Which Doritos Flavors Are Gluten-Free?

In the U.S., just one flavor of Doritos is officially labeled as gluten-free on the Frito Lay website: Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips.

Most other Doritos flavors are free of wheat, barley, rye, and oats, but Frito-Lay does not test the gluten-content of these products. They warn that there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten during production.

Can People with Celiac Disease Eat Doritos?

Good news! Those with Celiac disease can safely eat the American brand of Doritos Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips.

The bad news? This is the only official Dorito flavor Frito Lay lists as gluten-free.

Other Doritos flavors are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients, but there’s no guarantee that they haven’t picked up trace amounts of gluten in the manufacturing process.

Though the machines are cleaned in between production, Frito-Lay does not test the chips gluten content, so they do not include them on a list of Doritos that are gluten-free.

Are Doritos Gluten-Free? FAQs

What kind of Doritos are gluten-free?

Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are the only flavor of Doritos chip labeled gluten free. The majority of Doritos flavors do not appear to contain gluten, but there is a risk that they have cross-contaminated with gluten in the production process.

Is there gluten in Doritos chips?

Asking yourself, “Are Doritos gluten-free?” Most flavors of Doritos do not appear to be made with gluten. However, only the Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are officially labeled as gluten-free.

Can Celiacs eat Doritos?

Those who have Celiacs disease should avoid most flavors of Doritos if they have a high sensitivity to gluten. Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are the only Doritos chip products with a gluten-free label. All others have the risk of cross-contamination with other products that contain gluten, so they cannot be included on the official Frito Lay list of gluten-free Doritos.

bag of cool ranch doritos open on white counter

The Bottom Line

So are Doritos gluten-free?

Most Doritos flavors do not appear to contain gluten, based on their ingredient list. But since Doritos are manufactured on the same lines as other Frito-Lay products that could contain gluten, they do come with the risk of cross-contamination.

Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are the only flavor Frito-Lay has labeled as gluten-free.

If you have a gluten intolerance or Celiac disease and want to play it safe, avoid other flavors of Doritos and enjoy other gluten-free options.

Kettle brand potato chips, Cape Cod potato chips, and Food Should Taste Good Multigrain chips are all safe alternatives.

Happy snacking!

For more gluten-free product information check out are marshmallows gluten-free and are french fries gluten-free.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

You may also like

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *