You’ve been asking yourself, “Are grits gluten-free?” And we’re here with the answer! We’ll give you all the details so you know which grits are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Grits are a classic side dish that have been beloved for centuries, both in the American South and in Northern Italy. In fact, this popular type of porridge was around long before it become a Southern staple. The dish actually originated with the Native Americans Muscogee tribe back in the 16th century.
So clearly, this comfort food has staying power!
Are Grits Gluten-Free?
Traditional grits are made from ground corn, which is a naturally gluten-free food. But are grits gluten-free?
Well, the answer depends on the brand you buy. Grits on their own are gluten-free, but some brands of grits could be cross-contaminated with other gluten-containing grains during the manufacturing process.
These types of grits aren’t safe for those who have Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Check out these posts on gluten-free cornbread, is cornbread gluten-free and are oats gluten-free.
What Brand of Grits Is Gluten-Free?
Fortunately, there many varieties of grits that are gluten-free and widely available at grocery stores in the United States.
Bob’s Red Mill makes corn grits that have a clear gluten-free label. Bob’s Red Mill products are always high-quality and one of my favorite options for gluten-free grains.
As their website states, Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free products go through “rigorous and strict gluten-free protocols.” All products are made in a gluten free facility, tested by their in-house quality control laboratory, and confirmed to contain zero gluten.
You can also find these different varieties of gluten free corn grits on Amazon:
Are Quaker Grits Gluten-Free?
No, none of the Quaker types of grits are considered gluten-free, including their white corn grits, white hominy grits, and yellow corn grits.
Why? Because Quaker grows, harvests, and stores their grits with other gluten grains like wheat, rye, or barley. Hence, Quaker can’t guarantee that the product contains zero gluten.
Corn grits are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients. However, some brands use a traditional processing method that puts their grits at risk of cross-contamination with other gluten grains. So while some brands (like Bob’s Red Mill) are labeled gluten-free, it’s important to check the ingredients list and labels to ensure the type of grits you’re buying is free of even trace gluten amounts.
Traditionally, grifts are made with corn. Since the main culprits of gluten grains are wheat, barley, and rye, grits that are made in a gluten-free facility are safe for a gluten-free diet.
In the purest form, grits are made over low heat with ground corn and hot water. This dish provides a number of vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. However, many people like to add extra milk, butter, and cheese to their grits, which can increase the fat and calories.
Once you’ve found gluten-free grits you might want to try one of these recipes for grits cakes, cream cheese grits or grits and eggs!
The Bottom Line
Are grits gluten-free? The answer is: sometimes!
Grits are a naturally gluten-free food that can be safely eat on a gluten-free diet, as long as the brand of grits is made in a gluten-free facility. However, some grits are manufactured alongside other gluten grains, putting the product at risk of cross-contamination.
For more questions about gluten-free products, check out these articles: are Doritos gluten-free, are french fries gluten-free, is buckwheat gluten-free, is brown rice gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free?
You also might like these posts on is butter gluten-free, are corn flakes gluten-free and is raisin bran gluten-free.