You’re asking yourself: Is Jello gluten-free? Check out this guide to learn more about which types of Jello are okay to eat on a gluten-free diet—and which ones you might want to avoid!

close up image of red jello in glass bowl


Jello is a jiggly, sweet, popular dessert that’s been finding its way to potlucks and kids parties since the 1950s. There are countless ways to serve Jello desserts, from strawberry pretzel Jello casserole to sugar-free Jello cups.

And though Jello can sometimes get a bad rap (hello, retro Jello molds!), there’s no denying the novelty and delight it can bring to kids and adults alike.

So if you eat gluten-free, you might be wondering: Is Jello gluten-free?

Here’s the short answer: Yes, Jello is gluten-free, but not certified gluten-free.

The Jell-O brand is owned by Kraft Foods, which has a strong policy of disclosing any gluten-containing ingredients on the label. However, the company doesn’t test their products to make sure they’re below 20 ppms gluten. And because Jello isn’t made in a gluten-free facility, they don’t label their products as gluten-free.

Quick Answer: Is Jello Gluten-Free?

Jello ingredients are naturally gluten-free: Water, gelatin, sugar or artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, and food coloring. Still, the Jell-O brand doesn’t make the gluten-free claim, since they’re not made in a gluten-free facility.

Jello products are not tested ensure the contain less than 20 ppms of gluten, and they do have a risk of cross contamination in the manufacturing facility.

So, is Jello safe to eat on a gluten-free diet?

Yes, in most cases, it’s probably okay to eat Jello.

For more articles on gluten-free living check out is oat milk gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-free, are cheetos gluten-free, and are potato chips gluten-free.

For gluten-free candy, check out are reeses gluten-free, are skittles gluten-free, are Swedish fish gluten-free, are m&ms gluten-free and are starburst gluten-free.

You also might like article on gluten-free chick-fil-A.

Which Types of Jello Are Gluten-Free?

Almost all types of classic Jello are made with gluten-free ingredients, but they’re not certified gluten-free. To be safe, you can always check the ingredient list and/or test for gluten content on your own. But if you have a serious reaction to any level of gluten, it’s probably best to skip it.

Keep in mind: This rule only goes for Jello gelatin dessert, not necessarily other Jell-O brand products, like pudding, tapioca, cheesecake, etc!

Here are the Jell-O brand gelatin desserts that are made with gluten-free ingredients:

  • Jell-O Original Strawberry Gelatin Snacks
  • Jell-O Raspberry Sugar Free 
  • Jell-O Sours Blue Raspberry Gelatin Snacks
  • Jell-O Berry Blue Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Blackberry Fusion Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Black Cherry Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Blueberry Pomegranate Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Peach Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Watermelon Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Cherry Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Cranberry Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Mango Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Lemon Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Lime Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Orange Sugar Free Gelatin Dessert
  • Jell-O Strawberry Banana Gelatin Dessert

Other Types of Gluten-Free Gelatin Dessert

It’s important to note that Jell-O is a brand of gelatin dessert. So are other types of gelatin gluten-free? And if so, which brands are they?

Most types of popular gelatin dessert found in grocery stores are naturally gluten-free. Here are some other brands making gluten-free products:

  • Simply Delish: Good news! Simply Delish Jel desserts are certified gluten-free, kosher, keto certified, and non-GMO verified. They’re also plant-based and made with natural sweetener and natural flavor!
  • Bakol Jel Dessert: This all-natural, vegan gelatin dessert mix is kosher, halal, and certified gluten-free. (It’s easy to spot to gluten-free label right on the box.)
  • Simple Mixes: Another safe option for those with Celiac disease, Simple Mixes is certified gluten-free (but not vegan, since the main ingredient is beef gelatin). This gelatin is also made with cane sugar, citric acid, natural coloring (no artificial colors here!), and a few other ingredients.
  • Royal Gelatin: Like Jell-O brand, Royal gelatin is free of gluten ingredients, but is not certified gluten-free. Still, you’re probably okay to eat it on a gluten-free diet. According to the Spoonful app, there is no gluten detected in the product.


Does Jello brand have gluten in it?

Jell-O gelatin desserts and Jell-O instant pudding are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients, meaning it’s probably safe for eating on a gluten-free diet. However, the brand doesn’t test to make sure the products are below 20 ppms of gluten, so Jell-O products are not considered certified gluten-free.

Does Jello pudding have gluten in it?

Jello pudding is made with ingredients free of gluten, including sugar, modified cornstarch, dextrose, artificial flavor, artificial color, and more. Most people consider Jello pudding gluten-free, but because it’s not made in a gluten-free facility, it’s not certified gluten-free.

Is Cool Whip gluten-free?

Yes, Cool Whip is gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. It’s made with ingredients like skim milk, hydrogenated vegetable oil, and high fructose corn syrup.

The Bottom Line

Is Jello gluten-free?

Yes. Jello is generally considered one of those widely accepted gluten-free foods, made with naturally gluten-free ingredients. If you check the ingredients label, you’ll see that none of the ingredients are derived from wheat, barley, rye, etc.

Still, Kraft Heinz Jello products aren’t certified gluten-free, since the company doesn’t test to make sure they’re below 20ppm gluten.

For the most part, it’s probably safe for those with Celiac’s disease or a gluten intolerance to eat Jello gelatin dessert and Jello pudding mix.

However, if you really want to play it safe, buy Simply Delish gelatin brand for a tasty gluten-free dessert, or test the gluten content of Jello on your own!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *