So you want to know: Are Skittles gluten-free? Check out this guide to learn more about whether or not Skittles are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.

2 bags of skittles on white counter

Skittles are a sweet snack with a chewy texture that just about everyone loves. They’re bright and fruity, come in a variety of flavors, make a great party favor. Eating them instantly makes you feel like a kid again — no matter how old you are!

With a fantastic combination of classic fruit flavors like strawberry, grape, lemon, and lime, it’s easy to see why Skittles are one of America’s most popular candy brands. Who wouldn’t want to taste the rainbow?

Some people are so passionate about Skittles, they even protested when the Lime flavor was replaced with Green Apple. The company listened to its loyal fan base and brought back the Lime flavor a few years later.

But if you’re on a gluten-free diet, you’re probably wondering: Are Skittles gluten-free?

Quick answer: Yes! All Skittles are considered gluten-free, but they are not certified gluten-free. This means there is some risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients in the manufacturing process.

Jump to:

Are Skittles Gluten-Free?

It’s a great day for candy lovers everywhere! All Skittles products made in the United States are considered gluten-free.

But keep in mind: Mars Wrigley company does not go through the process of ensuring Skittles are certified gluten-free. This means there is some risk of cross-contamination with gluten ingredients.

Still, most people who eat a gluten-free diet feel safe eating this chewy candy.

As the product label says, Skittles are made with the following gluten-free ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Hydrogenated palm kernel oil
  • Modified corn starch
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Citric acid
  • Tapioca dextrin
  • Red 40 lake
  • Yellow 5 lake
  • Blue 2 lake
  • Yellow 6 lake
  • Titanium dioxide
  • Blue 1 lake
  • Yellow 6
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 1
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Carnauba wax

This makes them one of those naturally gluten-free products that is most likely safe for people with Celiac disease to eat.

For more articles on gluten-free candy, check out are marshmallows gluten-freeare starburst gluten-free, are Swedish fish gluten-freeare m&ms gluten-free, are reeses gluten-freeare snickers gluten-free.

You also might like these articles on gluten-free Chick-Fil-A and gluten-free Wendys.

Which Skittles Are Gluten-Free?

If you have a sweet tooth, we have great news! If you check the product label of different flavors of Skittles, you will see that all Skittles are gluten free, from the original variety to limited-time flavors.

The list of gluten-free Skittles includes:

  • Skittles Original Fruity Candy
  • Tropical Skittles
  • Wild Berry Skittles
  • Tart-N-Tangy Skittles
  • Crazy Cores Skittles
  • Xtreme Skittles
  • Sour Skittles
  • Crazy Sours Skittles
  • Skittles Smoothies
  • Ice Cream Skittles
  • Skittles Sensations
  • Sour Wild Berry Skittles

The vast majority of seasonal and discontinued Skittles flavors are gluten-free, too.

But as always, it’s a good idea to check the ingredients list before consuming. Ingredients are always changing, and could vary from one year to another. Skittles ingredients also differ in other countries. So, play it safe and always check the package labels!

Are Skittles Vegan?

Unlike many gummy candies, Skittles are vegan and gelatin-free. The company moved away from using gelatin in its candy in 2010, and none of the other ingredients in Skittles are derived from animals, either.

Are Skittles Labeled Gluten-Free?

No, Skittles are not labeled gluten-free on their product packaging. This is because the Mars Wrigley company does not go through the official certification process to ensure their candy has less than 20 ppm gluten.

But if you review the ingredient label, you will find that Skittle are made with ingredients that are naturally gluten-free.

Are Skittles Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

Skittles are typically safe for people with Celiac disease to eat, since they are made without gluten ingredients.

However, Skittles not certified gluten-free. So if you have an extreme gluten allergy, you may want to test them for gluten — or steer clear of them completely.

Are Skittles Gluten- and Dairy-Free?

Yes, Skittles are considered a gluten-free food that is also dairy-free. They do not contain any milk products or products derived from animals, meaning they are even considered vegan.

But it’s important to note: Even though Skittles are made with gluten-free ingredients, there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten when they’re manufactured.

Skittles are not officially tested to ensure they have less than 20 ppm gluten. So if you are extremely careful about your gluten exposure, you may want to avoid them.

2 bags of skittles on white counter with 2 bowls of skittles

FAQs

Are Sour Skittles gluten-free?

Sour Skittles are considered gluten-free, since they’re made without gluten-containing ingredients. However, they are not certified gluten-free.

Are Tropical Skittles gluten-free?

Yes, like all other Skittles flavors, Tropical Skittles are made with gluten-free ingredients and considered to be gluten-free. Yet they are not certified gluten-free, so there is some risk of trace amounts of gluten.

Are Wild Berry Skittles Gluten-Free?

Yes, Wild Berry Skittles are made with ingredients that do not contain gluten, and therefore considered gluten-free. Just keep in mind that they are not certified gluten-free, meaning they are not tested to ensure they contain less than 20 ppm gluten.

Are Starbursts gluten-free?

Yes, Starbursts are a naturally gluten-free candy and are safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten allergies.

Are Sour Patch Kids gluten-free?

Yes, Sour Patch Kids are a gluten-free treat that you can safely eat on a gluten-free diet.

Are Skittles gluten-free in 2021?

Yes, as of 2021 and 2022, Skittles are made with gluten-free ingredients.

Are M&M’s gluten-free?

Yes, M&M’s are gluten-free, except for crispy and pretzel flavors.

Are Smarties gluten-free?

Yes, Smarties are a gluten-free candy that is safe to eat if you have a gluten allergy.

The Bottom Line

Skittles are considered gluten-free, but they are not certified gluten-free.

If you read the ingredient list, you’ll see that Skittles are free of any gluten-containing products.

But those who are extremely cautions about gluten intake may want to avoid Skittles in the candy aisles, since this product is not tested to verify that it is gluten-free.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.