You’ve got to know: Are M&M’s gluten-free? Learn everything you want to know in this post, where we’ll dive into which flavors of M&M’s are okay to eat on a gluten-free diet—and which ones aren’t!

3 bags of M&Ms on white counter


M&M’s are popular candies that have been around since the 1940s. In fact, the simple, button-shaped chocolates are much more than just a candy. They’re a brand, a character, a mega-store, a movie, and an icon of American culture.

Today, M&M’s come in more than 13 flavors and are sold in countries all across the globe. Seasonal flavors are often swiped off the shelves as soon as the holidays arrive, and fun new M&M’s products seem to emerge all the time.

Naturally then, if you have Celiac’s disease, you may be wondering if it’s okay to enjoy one of America’s favorite candies from time to time.

So are M&M’s gluten-free?

In short: Most of the time. Many varieties of M&M flavors are free of gluten, but not all of them. (Stay away from pretzel M&M’s and crispy M&M’s!)

Table of Contents

Quick Answer: Are M&M’s Gluten-Free?

Are M&M’s gluten-free? Here’s the longer answer:

M&M’s are not advertised as gluten-free products and do not have a gluten-free product label. Still, many of their candies are gluten-free and safe for consumption if you have Celiac disease or eat a gluten-free diet.

Generally, you can eat M&M’s if the ingredients listed on the nutrition labels do not contain gluten. (Keep in mind, pretzel M&M’s contain wheat flour.)

You might like these articles on are starburst gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-free, are reeses gluten-free, are skittles gluten-free

You also might like these articles on are sour patch kids gluten-free, are oreos gluten-free, is nutella gluten-free, are Swedish fish gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free and is Jello gluten-free.

You also might like this collection of gluten-free recipes.

Which M&M’s Flavors Are Gluten-free?

Though M&M’s are not marketed or labeled as gluten-free in the United States, the majority of the flavors are free of gluten.

According to, most flavors of M&M’s were tested with a Nima Sensor and shown to have no gluten content, even though a few flavors had a label warning that they “may contain wheat.”

The following candies are probably safe for any gluten-free chocolate lovers:

  • Milk Chocolate M&M’s
  • Peanut M&M’s
  • Peanut Butter M&M’s
  • Almond M&M’s
  • Coffee Nut M&M’s
  • Carmel M&M’s
  • Thai Coconut Peanut M&M’s
  • Hazelnut Spread M&M’s
  • Mint Chocolate M&M’s
  • White Chocolate M&M’s

You also might like this post on what candy is gluten-free. You also might like these gluten-free m&m cookies.

Which M&M’s Flavors Do Not Contain Wheat?

Certain M&M’s flavors include a warning that they may contain wheat. Even though a Nima Sensor did not detect wheat in these products, if you have an extreme gluten sensitivity and want to play it safe, you may want to stay clear of those flavors.

The following flavors do NOT have a warning that they “may contain wheat”:

  • Milk Chocolate M&M’s
  • Almond M&M’s
  • Peanut M&M’s
  • Peanut Butter M&M’s

You also might like this Halloween snack mix.

Are M&M’s Gluten-Free in the USA?

M&M’s contain slightly different ingredients in every country. So are M&M’s gluten-free in the U.S.?

Yes, M&M’s made in America are generally considered gluten-free, except for flavors like pretzel and crispy M&M’s, which contain wheat.

Most U.S.-made M&M’s are manufactured using milk chocolate, skim milk, cocoa butter, lactose, soy lecithin, and other gluten-free ingredients.

Keep in mind that every country has a different gluten-free certification program and uses different ingredients to make M&M’s, so they may not be considered gluten-free foods in other countries.

3 bags of M&Ms on white counter with 2 bowls of open mms

Are Peanut M&M’s Gluten-Free?

Yes, peanut M&M’s that are made in the U.S. are gluten-free (but not certified gluten-free.)

The M&M’s website and the back of the peanut M&M’s package shows that the product is made with milk chocolate, peanuts, sugar, cornstarch, and other ingredients that are naturally gluten-free.

Many people with Celiac disease have tested peanut M&M’s with a Nima sensor, and these tests show that this M&M variety does not have any traces of gluten.

How Much Gluten Is in M&M’s?

The answer depends on the M&M’s flavor.

Most M&M’s do not have any gluten in them, even though they’re not labeled gluten-free.

Some M&M’s have a “may contain wheat warning,” so people with Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance should be more cautious when consuming these M&M flavors. Still, many people have tested these flavors for gluten and found zero traces.

The two M&M’s flavors that DO contain gluten are pretzel M&M’s and crispy M&M’s. These products are made with wheat flour and barley malt, respectively, and are not safe for those on a gluten-free diet.

You also might like this m&m popcorn!


Are M&M’s Celiac-safe?

If you have Celiac disease, many M&M’s flavors are safe for consumption, including milk chocolate M&M’s, peanut M&M’s, peanut butter M&M’s, and almond M&M’s. These M&M’s are not certified gluten-free, but they are not made with any gluten ingredients.

Do peanut M&M’s have gluten?

No, peanut M&M’s do not contain gluten, even though they are not labeled as gluten free. If you check the ingredients label, you will see that they are made with from gluten-free ingredients like milk chocolate, peanuts, soy lecithin, sugar, cornstarch, and gum acacia.

What chocolate can people with Celiac disease eat?

Pure, unsweetened chocolate is naturally gluten-free, but some different varieties of chocolate candies are made with ingredients that contain gluten. Some of the most popular gluten-free chocolate candy bars include Dove, Endangered Species, Hershey’s, and Nestle.

Does chocolate have gluten?

Chocolate in its purest form does not contain gluten. However, other ingredients are added into chocolate when its processed, and these ingredients made contain gluten. It’s best to read the label to make sure the chocolate candy is gluten-free.

Are M&M’s eggs gluten-free?

Like regular M&M’s, most M&M’s eggs are gluten-free. However, the exact answer depends on the flavor you’re buying. Check the ingredients list to find out if the specific flavor of M&M’s eggs contains gluten.

The Bottom Line

Are M&M’s gluten-free?

Good news! In many cases, the answer is yes. Even though M&M’s don’t have a gluten-free label, they have many gluten-free options, including flavors like milk chocolate, peanut, and peanut butter. These flavors do not have any gluten ingredients and are considered to be gluten-free candies.

Pretzel M&M’s and Crispy M&M’s are the only flavors that have gluten in them.

Even the M&M’s that have a “may contain wheat” warning are typically free of gluten, according to Nima sensor tests. However, if you’re worried about an allergic reaction, it’s better to avoid these flavors.

As always, it’s smart to read the ingredients label before buying M&M’s. Ingredients may change over time, and new flavors could contain gluten.

Happy snacking!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *