Have you ever wondered, is a Snickers bar gluten-free? I have good news for you! Find everything you need to know in this article!

overhead shot of snickers bar on counter


A Snickers bar is a tasty candy bar full of milk chocolate and peanuts. It has been a fan favorite for years. But is it gluten-free?


The short answer is yes, Snickers bars are gluten-free! Keep reading for a more in-depth look at this chocolate bar and if it is safe for those with celiac.

Table of Contents

What are Snickers bars made of?

Snickers are a mix of chocolate and peanuts, but there are a few more ingredients that make up this popular candy bar. There is a nougat and caramel layer in there to create the perfect combination of salty and sweet. Nougat is a common product in candy bars.

The crunchy peanuts layer is perfect for lovers of peanuts and perfect for those allergic to tree nuts, as peanuts are not a tree nut. There are other Snickers products, such as ice cream bars, brownie Snickers, creamy peanut butter Snickers, and many more. Not all of them are gluten-free, so it is important to look at the allergy information and product label before eating.

overhead shot of mini snickers bars on counter

Are Snickers bars safe for celiac?

It depends on the severity of your allergy, but Snickers are not certified gluten-free. They do not contain any gluten ingredients, but there is not that certification.

So, for those with celiac disease, it may be best to avoid Snickers bars to avoid an allergic reaction.

There are recipes out there for making your own homemade Snickers bars. This way, you are able to control what goes in them and they taste like the real thing. A fun thing to try if you make homemade Snickers is to make homemade caramel.

If you look online, you will be able to find recipes for homemade candy bars, so you can make your favorite candy bar.

Check out this full gluten-free candy list!

For more articles check out are starburst gluten-freeis buckwheat gluten-freeis oat milk gluten-freeare french fries gluten-free and is baking powder gluten-free.

You also might like are sour patch kids gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-freeare doritos gluten-free and are grits gluten-free!

You also might like this article on Chick-fil-A Gluten-Free and Wendy’s gluten-free!

What are the layers of a Snickers bar?

A Snickers bar has five delicious layers. The first two are the milk chocolate outside coating. Then, there is a bottom layer of nougat. Nougat is basically a mixture of egg whites, sugar, and vanilla.

On top of the nougat is a layer of peanuts. Above that is a layer of caramel. The Snickers website can give you more information about the layers, what exactly each layer contains, and the nutritional information.

Try this recipe for snickers popcorn! You also might like these articles on is nutella gluten-free and are m&ms gluten-free?

mini snickers on counter with snickers bar cut in half

More gluten-free candy

Luckily, there are many gluten-free candies to curb your sweet tooth. Make sure to do your research to ensure they are gluten-free products. Popular candies will have websites that have nutritional information or warnings about possible cross-contamination. Here is a list of just a few of the many candies that are gluten-free:

  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Hershey’s
  • Smarties
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Starbursts
  • M&Ms (except for those with pretzels, crisps, and seasonal items)
  • Butterfingers (but not the Butterfinger Crisp)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (except seasonal items)
  • Swedish Fish
  • Skittles
  • Baby Ruth
  • Gummy bears (most brands of gummy bears)
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Jelly Beans
  • Some flavors of Warheads (pay attention to the ingredients list)
Are Snickers vegan?

No, Snickers bars are not vegan. In the Snickers bar, there are eggs whites in the nougat and milk chocolate coating. There are vegan candy bars, but they are not the typical brand name candy bars. In fact, there are delicious vegan Snickers bars out there!

Are Snickers mini gluten-free?

Yes! Snickers minis, dark chocolate bars, and Snickers fun size are gluten-free. A lot of the other kinds of Snickers bars are also gluten-free, but you should look at the ingredient list for gluten-containing ingredients, as some candy bars are in danger of cross contamination.

Who are Snickers made by?

Mars Incorporated makes Snickers bars. They are a large company located in McLean, Virginia in the United States that makes a variety of foods, like candy, dog food, and other products. Mars Inc owns Pedigree, Uncle Ben’s Rice, and many other food companies. Many of your favorite candy bars are made by the parent company Mars Incorporated, such as Milky Way bars, Mars bars, M&Ms, Twix, and many others.


Yes, Snickers bars are gluten-free. There are no gluten ingredients in Snickers bars, but that is always subject to change.

It is a good idea to keep an eye on the ingredients list of everything you eat because things always change.

Not all Snickers bars are gluten-free, so the best way to be safe is to be mindful of the ingredients and enjoy!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *