You’re curious: Are Reese’s gluten-free? We can help answer that! Check out this post for everything you want to know about eating Reese’s on a gluten-free diet.

individual reeses on white counter
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!

Reese’s peanut butter cups are one of those classic chocolate candies that are the perfect balance of salty and sweet. They’re the perfect peanut butter to chocolate ratio!

The peanut butter filling wrapped up in creamy, smooth chocolate is a treat for the taste buds. So it’s no wonder they’re one of America’s most popular chocolates!

Seasonal Reese’s (like Reese’s eggs and trees) have their own cult following. Many people insist they’re even more delicious than the original peanut butter cup!

So if you’re asking yourself, “Are Reese’s peanut butter cups gluten-free?”, I totally understand.

I wanted to know too, which is why I did the deep-dive to find out everything there is to know about Reese’s and gluten allergies!

So are Reese’s gluten-free?

Short answer: Yes, all Reese’s candies are gluten-free, except the seasonal shapes.

Are Reese’s Gluten-Free?

Yes, all Reese’s are gluten-free, including with the exception of seasonal Reese’s varieties.

If you check the ingredient label, you’ll see that Reese’s are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients like milk chocolate, lecithin (soy), peanuts, sugar, dextrose, salt, TBHQ, and citric acid (to maintain freshness).

You can even find an official list of all gluten-free Reese’s on the Hersheyland website. (Hershey’s is the manufacturer of Reese’s.)

But keep in mind, Reese’s are not certified gluten free, meaning the factory does not test the products to ensure the candies have less than 20 ppm gluten. If you have an extreme gluten allergy or sensitivity, it may be worth testing the candy for gluten before eating.

Which Reese’s Are Gluten-Free?

All Reese’s except the seasonal shapes are gluten-free, meaning there are a LOT of gluten-free Reese’s out there!

The Hershey company has an exhaustive list, but we’ll include just the most popular Reese’s candies here:

  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Miniatures Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Miniatures White Creme Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Big Cup Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Candy
  • Reese’s Big Cup with Potato Chips
  • Reese’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Stuffed with Pieces Big Cup Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Stuffed with Pieces Miniatures Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Nutrageous Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Candy Bar
  • Reese’s Easter Milk Chocolate Miniature Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Fast Break Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Candy Bar
  • Reese’s Fall Harvest Milk Chocolate Miniature Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Franken-Cup Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese’s Mallow-Top Marshmallow Creme with Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

For more articles on gluten-free candy, check out are marshmallows gluten-freeare starburst gluten-freeare Swedish fish gluten-free and are m&ms gluten-free.

You also might like these posts on are milky ways gluten-free, are macarons gluten-free, are skittles gluten-freeare snickers gluten-free.

You also might like these articles on gluten-free Chick-Fil-A and gluten-free Wendys.

Are Reese’s Celiac-Friendly?

Good news: Yes, Reese’s are a Celiac-friendly chocolate treat that is safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. ALL of Reese’s products are listed as gluten-free on the Hershey’s website, with the exception of seasonal-shaped Reese’s.

So go ahead and reach for any and all varieties Reese products you find at the grocery store…just steer clear of the Reese’s eggs, trees, and other seasonal shaped items!

Why Are Seasonal Reese’s Not Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, seasonal Reese’s (like Reese’s eggs, trees, hearts, and pumpkins) are the only Reese’s product that are not gluten-free.

You won’t see any gluten on the list of ingredients, but they still cannot be considered gluten-free.


Because seasonal Reese’s are made in a facility that produces products containing gluten ingredients, so there is a risk of cross contamination in the manufacturing process.

Are Reese’s Mini Cups Gluten-Free?

Yes! Reese’s miniatures peanut butter cups are gluten-free, just like all other Reese’s candies (except for the holiday shapes). Even though they don’t have a gluten-free label on the front or back of the packaging, they’re on the list of gluten-free Reese’s that you can find on the Hershey’s website.

For favorite gluten-free recipes, try these gluten-free chocolate chip cookies, gluten-free banana bread and gluten-free brownies.

bag of snack size reeses on white counter


What candy can gluten-free people eat?

If you’re looking for gluten-free chocolate candy, you have plenty of options, including Reese’s peanut butter cups (except the seasonal shapes), 3 Musketeers bars, M&M’s (except for the pretzel and crispy flavors), Dove Chocolates, and Snickers bars. Skittles, Starbursts, and Swedish Fish are gluten-free, too!

Are Snickers gluten-free?

Yes, Snickers are gluten-free! They currently do not contain any gluten ingredients, but it’s always smart to check the nutrition facts to make sure the ingredients have not changed.

Are M&M’s gluten-free?

Yes, M&M’s are gluten-free and safe to eat if you have Celiac disease. Just avoid the pretzel and crispy M&M’s, since those varieties do contain gluten.

Are Reese’s pumpkins gluten-free?

No, Reese’s pumpkins are not gluten-free. Like Reese’s eggs and other seasonal shapes, Reese’s pumpkins are made in a factory where there is a risk of cross contamination with other gluten ingredients. This makes them risky to eat if you’re on a gluten-free diet or have Celiac disease.

Are Reese’s eggs gluten-free in 2022?

No, as of 2022, Reese’s eggs are one of the few Reese’s candies that are not gluten-free. Though they do not contain gluten ingredients, they’re made in a facility where there is a risk of cross contamination with gluten.

Are Reese’s dairy-free?

No, Reese’s are not dairy-free or vegan. They’re made with milk chocolate, which, as the name suggests, contains milk.

Are Reese’s Take 5 Gluten-Free?

No, Reese’s Take 5 are not gluten-free. They contain pretzels which contain wheat flour. Most Reese’s candies are gluten-free, including Reese’s peanut butter cups and Reese’s Fast Break candy bars. However, Reese’s seasonal shapes are made in a factory that presents a risk of cross contamination.

The Bottom Line

Are Reese’s peanut butter cups gluten-free?

Yes! Luckily, nearly all types of Reese’s candies are gluten-free.

Seasonal shapes are the only Reese’s you’ll want to stay away from if you have Celiac disease or eat a gluten-free diet. These Reese’s products are made in a factory where other gluten-containing products are produced, meaning they could contain trace amounts of gluten.

Otherwise, you can eat most Reese’s products to your heart’s content — even if you’re on a gluten-free diet!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I'm Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I'm here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook


    1. In the United States these are the ingredients for Reese’s pieces. They don’t contain barley. Do you mind sharing the ingredients for those from the UK to help others?

      Ingredients: Sugar, partially defatted peanuts, hydrogenated vegetable oil (palm kernel oil, soybean oil), corn syrup solids, dextrose, contains 2% or less of: palm kernel oil, corn syrup, salt, artificial color (including yellow 5 lake, yellow 6 lake, red 40 lake, blue 1 lake), modified cornstarch, confectioner’s glaze, lecithin (soy), vanillin (artificial flavor), carnauba wax, milk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *