Sour Patch Kids are perfectly sweet and sour at the same time, and their chewy texture hits just right. But are they gluten-free? Read on to find out.

4 packages of sour patch kids on white background


 

Sour Patch Kids are sure to satisfy your sweet tooth. But before you grab a box or bag, you might want to ask yourself: Are they gluten-free?

SHORT ANSWER: YES!

Yes, Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free! Sour Patch Kids do not carry a “certified gluten-free” symbol on the label, but no gluten ingredients are used to produce Sour Patch Kids.

Table of Contents

For more articles on gluten-free candy, check out are reeses gluten-free, are starburst gluten-free, are Swedish fish gluten-free, are m&ms gluten-free, are skittles gluten-free and are snickers gluten-free.

You also might like these articles on Starbucks gluten-free, Jersey Mikes gluten-free, Chipotle gluten-free and Chick-Fil-A gluten-free.

Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free?

Sour Patch Kids, owned today by Mondelez International, began their life as “Mars Men” back in the 1970s. In 1985, Mars Men became Sour Patch Kids during the height of the Cabbage Patch Dolls craze. The sour-then-sweet candy gained popularity at movie theaters’ candy counters and gradually became a staple in grocery store aisles as well.

Sour Patch Kids candy have expanded to include several fruity varieties, including the popular single-fruit strawberry slices, grape clusters, and watermelon wedges. Look for limited edition flavors around major holidays, as well! All varieties are gluten-free, including the following:

  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Sour Patch Kids Big Kids
  • Sour Patch Kids Bites
  • Sour Patch Kids Watermelon
  • Sour Patch Kids Extreme
  • Sour Patch Kids Big Kids Heads
  • Sour Patch Kids Strawberry
  • Sour Patch Kids Grape
  • Sour Patch Kids Tropical
  • Sour Patch Kids Blue Raspberry
  • Sour Patch Kids Peach
  • Sour Patch Kids Red, White & Blue (for Independence Day)
  • Sour Patch Kids Bunnies (for Easter)
  • Sour Patch Kids Jelly Beans (for Easter)
  • Sour Patch Kids Coal (for Christmas)
  • Sour Patch Kids Red & Green (for Christmas)
  • Sour Patch Kids Black Raspberry Sour Hearts (for Valentine’s Day)

Or, if you’d rather put your own unique spin on your favorite chewy candy, visit the official Sour Patch Kids website to create a custom mix of flavors with personalized packaging.

Any and all Sour Patch Kids do not contain gluten ingredients, so they are widely considered safe to eat if you have celiac disease or food allergies.

open bag of sourpatch kids on white background

What Are Sour Patch Kids Made of?

Original Sour Patch Kids include the following on their ingredient labels:

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar (a super sweet, liquid syrup made from glucose and fructose)
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Tartaric acid (from fruit, especially grapes)
  • Citric acid (from citrus fruit)
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • Yellow 6
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 1

Sour Patch Kids are a sweet gummy candy covered with a layer of mouth-puckering sour sugar crystals. The sour-then-sweet combo is irresistible to kids of all ages!

Are Sour Patch Kids Watermelon Gluten Free?

Sour Patch Kids Watermelon– arguably the most delicious of all Sour Patch Kids- contain nearly the same ingredients as original Sour Patch Kids. Sour Patch Watermelon do not carry a gluten-free label, but like all Sour Patch candies, they are free from gluten-containing ingredients. They are made from sugar, invert sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, citric acid, tartaric acid, natural and artificial flavor, titanium dioxide, and artificial colors.

The watermelon variety differs only by adding titanium dioxide and losing yellow 6. This sweet treat is safe to eat if you’re gluten-free.

More Gluten-Free Sweets

Sour Patch Kids aren’t the only gluten-free treats! There are so many yummy sweets to choose from. Check out these articles about other gluten-free candies:

Make sure to read closely- some of these candies are completely gluten-free, while others have certain varieties that do contain gluten.

FAQs

can celiacs have sour patch kids?

Yes, celiacs can have Sour Patch Kids, because they do not contain wheat flour or any other gluten ingredients. Sour Patch Kids are not FDA certified gluten-free (guaranteed to have less than 20 parts per million of gluten), but they are made without any gluten ingredients.

are sour patch kids gluten and dairy free?

Yes, Sour Patch Kids are gluten and dairy free! This colorful sour-then-sweet candy is safe to eat on a dairy-free or gluten-free diet. In fact, Sour Patch Kids are a vegan candy as well- they do not contain any products derived from animals.

The main ingredients used to make Sour Patch Kids are sugar, invert sugar (a super sweet, liquid syrup made from glucose and fructose), and corn syrup. Corn starch is used for bonding and texture.

are sour patch kid watermelons gluten-free?

Like all other Sour Patch candies, Sour Patch Watermelon do not carry a gluten-free label, but they are free from gluten-containing ingredients. They are made from sugar, invert sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, citric acid, tartaric acid, natural and artificial flavor, titanium dioxide, and artificial colors.

Yes, Sour Patch Kids Watermelon are safe to eat if you have a gluten sensitivity.

The Bottom Line

Sour Patch Kids are a tasty gluten-free treat! While their packaging does not carry a gluten free label, all varieties of Sour Patch Kids are commonly considered gluten-free. This popular candy is safe to eat for those with celiac disease or any other gluten sensitivities.

Between the sugar, sugar and more sugar, along with artificial ingredients, Sour Patch Kids do not provide nutritional or dental benefits, but if you’re dealing with gluten intolerance, they will go easy on your gut! So when it’s time to indulge, Sour Patch Kids are a sour but sweet go-to.

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *