You want to know: Is naan is gluten-free? Get the full scoop in this post! We’ll answer all of your questions about eating naan on a gluten-free diet.

close up image of stacked naan bread

Naan is a soft, thick, Indian flatbread that has been popular across many Asian countries for more than 2,500 years!

Traditionally baked in a tandoor oven (a type of clay oven), this chewy bread is moist and bubbly, and can be made with garlic, saffron, or other spices. Naan is usually oval shaped, has a slightly crisp exterior, and has toasted brown spots.

While it’s most commonly served with Indian cuisine like curry, lentils, or beans, naan taste equally great as an alternative to pizza crust or served with vegetables and your favorite dips. It’s also delicious used to wrap up falafel bites! Really, the possibilities are endless!

Knowing how tasty naan bread is, you might be wondering: Is naan bread gluten-free?

Here’s a quick answer: Unfortunately, no! Traditional naan bread is made with wheat flour, which contains gluten and is not safe for those with Celiac’s disease or a gluten intolerance.

Still, you may be able to eat naan bread if it is made with a gluten-free flour blend. Check out the rest of this post to learn more about naan bread!

Quick Answer: Is Naan Gluten-Free?

No, naan bread is typically made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. Naan bread served in most Indian restaurants is not gluten-free, and many brands of grocery store naan bread are not gluten-free, either.

But don’t lose hope! There are a few brands that make gluten-free naan bread, and you can easily make gluten-free naan at home. In fact, my recipe for gluten-free flatbread is a great option!

For more articles on gluten-free living, check out is buckwheat gluten-free, is brown rice gluten-free, are grits gluten-free, is oat milk gluten-free, is couscous gluten-free and are potatoes gluten-free.

Does Naan Bread Contain Gluten?

Yes, authentic naan bread contains wheat all purpose flour, which has gluten, along with ingredients like yogurt, eggs, yeast, and olive oil, and more. Traditional Indian recipes for naan are not gluten-free, you can find a gluten-free naan recipe to make at home.

Is Pita Bread Gluten-Free?

No, pita is not a gluten free bread, because it’s made with wheat flour. However, you can buy gluten-free pita bread from brands like Mybread and Against the Grain, or you can make gluten-free pita at home using gluten-free flour.

Which Naan Bread Is Gluten-Free?

Though the popular Stonefire naan bread isn’t gluten-free, there are a few brands making gluten-free pita and flatbread.

These breads are usually a little thinner and not as chewy as naan, but still a great substitution for soaking up curry sauce or butter chicken, lentils, soups, and more.

Here are a few options to look out for the next time you’re at the grocery store:

  • Mybread: This gluten-free pita bread is made with brown rice flour, tapioca flour, potato starch, and corn starch. Xanthan gum is added to give the bread a nice chew, and it’s completely safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.
  • Against the Grain: This family business makes a variety of food products safe for those who have Celiac’s disease, including pita bread! This bread is made with tapioca starch and buckwheat flour.
  • Casabi: Vegan, paleo, and gluten-free, you can bake this cassava flour-based flatbread for a few minutes to get a get an oven-fresh taste and texture!
  • BFree: Made with white rice flour, corn starch, and potato starch, this pita bread is another good alternative to traditional naan bread.
  • Bob’s Red Mill: If you want a quick route to homemade gluten-free naan, try Bob’s Red Mill flatbread mix. This gluten-free blend is made with grain-free almond and cassava flour.

Where to Find Gluten-Free Naan Bread

Honestly, it can be difficult to find gluten-free naan bread in stores. However, you can find gluten-free pita and flatbread online and in a few stores.

Here’s where to shop for gluten-free flatbread or pita bread:

  • Sprouts: Carries MyBread gluten-free pita bread
  • Amazon: Carries BFree pita bread and Casabi flatbread
  • Thrive Market: Carries Against the Grain pita bread

What to Serve with Gluten-Free Naan Bread

Gluten-free naan bread goes well with soups, stews, curries, beans, salads, and more!

If you’re looking for an amazing recipe to pair with naan bread or my favorite gluten-free flatbread recipe, try these!

FAQs

Is Stonefire naan bread gluten-free?

No, none of the Stonefire naan bread flavors are gluten-free, including Original, Roasted Garlic, Whole Grain, etc. As stated on their ingredients list and website, the first ingredient in the bread is enriched wheat flour (which contains gluten.)

What breads are gluten-free?

Some types of breads from around the world are naturally gluten-free, such as cassava bread (made with cassava flour), socca (made with chickpea flour), and corn bread. There are other brands that make sandwich bread with gluten-free flour, including Schar, Udi’s, and Canyon Bakehouse.

What makes naan bread different?

Naan bread differs slightly from pita bread and other flatbreads because it is thicker and has a chewy, bubbly, fluffy texture.

The Bottom Line

Is naan gluten-free?

No. Regular naan bread is usually made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. If you’re eating gluten-free, it’s usually not safe to order naan bread from restaurants or buy it at the store.

Instead, try buying gluten-free pita or flatbread. Or make naan bread at home using a gluten free naan bread recipe or flatbread recipe. This will require simple ingredients like gf flour, warm water, instant yeast, and Greek yogurt. (No need for a tandoor oven—a cast iron skillet or frying pan will do!)

More Articles on Gluten-Free Living

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.