You’ve been wondering: Are Fritos gluten-free? We’re spilling all the details in this post! Keep reading for everything you need to know about Fritos and gluten-free eating.

open bag of original fritos on white counter

Named after the Spanish word for “fried,” Fritos are one of those popular chip brands that totally hit the spot when paired with chili, taco salad, or a classic deli sandwich.

They’re often served at family barbecues, at school parties, or with a catered lunch spread. Fritos are so popular in America, they’ve even spurred creative dishes like walking tacos and Frito pie.

Fritos corn chips have a unique consistency and flavor that’s hard to replicate—they’re perfectly crisp, salty, and have just the right amount of ground corn flavor.

So if you’re on a gluten-free diet or have gluten-related disorders, you might be wondering: Are Fritos gluten-free?

Here’s the quick answer: Some Fritos flavors are gluten-free (including the original corn chips), but not all of them!

Jump to:

You also might like these articles on are potato chips gluten-free, are doritos gluten-free, are potato chips gluten-free, are cheetos gluten-free and are corn flakes gluten-free.

For gluten-free dining out check out Chick-Fil-A gluten-free and Wendy’s gluten-free options.

Are Fritos Gluten-Free?

It depends on the flavor.

According to Frito-Lay’s website, Fritos Original Corn Chips are gluten-free, along with their Lightly Salted Corn Chips, Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips, and Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips.

Other Frito flavors are made with gluten-free ingredients, but they are made in a facility where there is risk of cross-contamination. For this reason, Frito-Lay does add a gluten-free product label for these flavors.

Which Fritos Are Gluten-Free?

Frito-Lay lists four Fritos flavors as gluten-free, stating that they meet the FDA’s Gluten Free Food Labeling Rule in the United States.

For a certified gluten-free option, stick with these flavors, which have been tested to ensure they have less than 20 ppm of gluten:

  • FRITOS® Lightly Salted Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Original Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Scoops!® Corn Chips

Which Fritos Are Made with Gluten-Free Ingredients?

If you check the ingredient list on Fritos, you will see that most of the flavors do not contain any gluten ingredients. Still, Frito-Lay warns that these flavors are at risk for cross-contamination in the manufacturing process, since they are not made in a gluten-free facility.

These flavors do not contain gluten ingredients, but are not labeled as gluten-free:

  • FRITOS Flavor Twists® Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
  • FRITOS Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
  • FRITOS Flamin’ Hot® Flavored Corn Chips
  • FRITOS Scoops!® Spicy Jalapeño Flavored Corn Chips
  • FRITOS Spicy Jalapeño Flavored Corn Chips
3 bags of fritos on white counter

Are Fritos Wheat Free?

Yes, Fritos are wheat-free—but not all flavors are certified gluten-free and do have risk of cross-contamination, so it’s important to read the label.

FRITOS® Original Corn Chips are made with just three simple ingredients: corn, corn oil, and salt. They are wheat-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Flavors like Fritos Scoops, Lightly Salted Fritos, and Reduced Fat Fritos are also wheat-free and gluten-free.

However Frito-Lay does make any gluten-free claims for other types of Fritos, since they may come in contact with gluten-containing ingredients during the manufacturing process.

Which Corn Chips Are Gluten-Free?

There are many types of gluten-free corn chips that can be found in grocery stores across the U.S.

Though all Fritos are made without gluten ingredients, the Frito Lay website states that just four of their Fritos flavors are gluten-free. Those flavors are:

  • FRITOS® Lightly Salted Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Original Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
  • FRITOS® Scoops!® Corn Chips

Other gluten-free corn chip options include:

  • Late July Organic Sea Salt Corn Chips
  • Food Should Taste Good Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
  • Mission Thin & Crispy Tortilla Chips
  • Juanita’s Gluten-Free Tortilla Chips
  • Way Better Snacks Sprouted Gluten-Free Tortilla Chips
  • SANTITAS® White Corn Tortilla Chips
  • SANTITAS® Yellow Corn Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Baked Scoops!® Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Bite Size Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Cantina Thin & Crispy Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Cantina Traditional Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Lightly Salted Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Original Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Reduced Fat Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Scoops!® Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Simply Organic Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Simply Organic Yellow Corn Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Strips Tortilla Chips
  • TOSTITOS® Thick & Hearty Rounds Tortilla Chips

FAQs

Which Lays chips are gluten-free?

Frito Lay lists the following Lays as gluten-free chips:
LAY’S® Baked BBQ Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® Baked Original Potato Crisps
LAY’S® Baked Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® Classic Potato Chips
LAY’S® Lightly Salted Potato Chips
LAY’S® Simply Sea Salted Thick Cut Potato Chips
LAY’S® STAX® Bacon & Cheddar Potato Skins Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Buffalo Wings with Ranch Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Cheddar Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Chile Limón Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Flamas® Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Mesquite Barbecue Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Original Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® STAX® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Crisps
LAY’S® Wavy Lightly Salted Potato Chips
LAY’S® Wavy Original Potato Chips

Are Doritos gluten-free?

According to the Frito-Lay company’s website, only one flavor of Doritos is gluten-free: DORITOS® Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips.

Are Chili Fritos gluten-free?

Chili Fritos are made without gluten ingredients, but they are not considered gluten-free. They are made in a factory where there is potential for cross contamination with other gluten ingredients.

Are Frito Twists gluten-free?

Frito Twists are made without gluten ingredients, but Frito-Lay does not give them a gluten-free label or consider them to be gluten-free status. This is because they may cross-contaminate with gluten ingredients during the manufacturing process.

Are Fritos gluten- and dairy-free?

Three flavors of Fritos are both gluten- and dairy-free. These flavors include:
Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips
Fritos Original Corn Chips
Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips

Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Snacks are also dairy-free, but they could cross-contaminate with gluten ingredients during the manufacturing process, and are not labeled as gluten-free.

The Bottom Line

Are Fritos gluten-free?

Good news! Several Fritos flavors are considered one of those gluten free foods you can safely enjoy if you have Celiac disease or a non-Celiac gluten sensitivity.

Frito-Lay products come in a wide range of flavors that are made without gluten-containing grains.

If you check the ingredients list or product labels, you will see that most Fritos flavors are made without gluten ingredients, but not all of them are considered gluten-free, since they run the risk of cross-contaminating with gluten during the manufacturing process.

If you have Celiac disease or gluten sensitivities and want to play it safe, stick to the following flavors, which are listed as gluten-free on Frito Lay’s website:

FRITOS® Lightly Salted Corn Chips
FRITOS® Original Corn Chips
FRITOS® Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
FRITOS® Scoops!® Corn Chips

Happy snacking!

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.