Have you ever wondered if Cheetos are gluten-free? Do not worry, you are not the only one. Keep reading to find out and learn everything you need to know and more about Cheetos.

2 bags of cheetos on white background
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!

Cheetos are the perfect poolside snack, great for lunches, and an awesome snack at anytime, really. They are known for their cheddar cheese dust that turns your fingers orange and that makes them even better, in my opinion. But if you are on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: Are Cheetos gluten-free?

Good news: Cheetos are indeed gluten-free. At least in the United States they are. Frito Lay, the company that makes them, has listed Cheetos on their list of gluten-free products, so they are safe for those with a gluten allergy.

Keep reading to learn about the different types and flavors of Cheetos and if they are all gluten-free!

Quick Answer: Are Cheetos Gluten-Free?

Yes! They qualify as gluten-free, but are not certified gluten free. There is a certification process that protects those with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.

According to Frito Lay, the company that manufactures Cheetos, Cheetos are gluten-free. They have done testing to ensure that this cheesy snack has less than 20 ppm of gluten in them, which is the FDA Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule. So there is a small amount of gluten content, but they are still considered gluten-free.

It does depend on the sensitivity of your gluten allergy. If you have a high sensitivity, it may be best to avoid Cheetos, but it is up to you. If your sensitivity is low, you are fine to eat Cheetos.

Are Simply Cheetos Gluten-Free?

Simply Cheetos are labelled at gluten free! They also have no artificial flavors or artificial color.

The top ingredient is corn meal, so there is no worry about gluten ingredients. They do contain milk ingredients, so if you also have a dairy allergy, you will want to avoid them. The ingredient list also contains sunflower oil, lactic acid, and citric acid.

Simply Cheetos offer a variety of flavors, like White Cheddar Cheese, White Cheddar Jalapeño Cheese, and even tortilla chips! Frito Lay does say they constantly update their website with new information, so it is always a good idea to check before eating any Cheetos.

Are Crunchy FLAMIN’ HOT Cheetos Gluten-Free?

FLAMIN’ HOT Cheetos are gluten-free. They have similar ingredients to Simply Cheetos and break down each ingredient in the ingredient list. Cheetos are also made with real cheese, so you can count on a delicious, natural flavor.

Are Doritos and Cheetos Gluten-Free?

Cheetos are gluten-free, whereas Doritos are not. Doritos are technically free of gluten content, but they can be contaminated in the manufacturing process. Only one flavor of Doritos is gluten-free and that is their Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips.

Most of their products are free of gluten-containing ingredients, but Frito Lay does not check these products for gluten products. For more information, check out this are doritos gluten-free article. You also might like gluten-free taco bell.

You also might like these articles on are goldfish gluten-free, are tortilla chips gluten-free, is velveeta gluten-free, are fritos gluten-free, are takis gluten-free and are potato chips gluten-free.

Want a sandwich to go with your chips? Check out this article on Jersey Mikes gluten-free.

Are Cheetos Gluten-Free? FAQs

What kind of Cheetos do not contain gluten?

Pretty much any of the Cheetos popcorn snacks do not contain any gluten. Popcorn is naturally gluten-free, so popcorn is one of the safest options. Also the Chesters Puffcorn snacks do not have any gluten content.

Is there gluten in Cheetos?

Cheetos are gluten-free. There are some products that have no gluten content at all, but most of the Cheeto snacks have a tiny bit (20 ppm) of gluten in them. It is a small enough amount that the FDA declares them gluten-free, but it is important to note.

Can those with celiac disease eat Cheetos?

Yes and no. It all depends on the severity of your allergy. If your allergy is bad enough that one tiny bit of gluten will send you to the hospital, it is best to avoid Cheetos. Even though they are technically gluten-free, they still contain up to 20 ppm of gluten. If you are not sure, it is best to ask your doctor before eating.


So, are Cheetos gluten-free?

Cheetos have been tested for gluten products and are indeed gluten-free. Some products are gluten-free, whereas others have no gluten ingredients. The difference there is that gluten-free products can have up to 20 ppm of gluten in the product.

If you have celiac disease, it may be best to stick to the snacks that contain no gluten ingredients, but always consult a doctor if you have questions.

Happy snacking!

For more gluten-free product information, check out Wendy’s gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free, is oat milk gluten-free, are marshmallows gluten-free, and are french fries gluten-free!

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.


Hi, I'm Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I'm here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

image for website to buy cookies cookbook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *