Peanut butter is creamy, nutty, and the ultimate pairing with chocolate, jelly, or a salty snack. But is it gluten-free? We’ll give you all the details in this post, so you can stay true to your gluten-free diet!

a jar of peanut butter with a spoon on a white background

Whether eating a classic PB&J or enjoying an indulgent peanut butter cup, it’s hard to argue with the universal appeal of peanut butter.

Crunchy or smooth, Jif peanut butter or natural peanut butter—no matter which option you choose, it makes a great addition to smoothies, sandwiches, toast, oatmeal, and desserts alike.

These days, there are a slew of fancy peanut butter combinations that make the classic spread all the more enticing. Who could resist dark chocolate peanut butter, cinnamon peanut butter, or honey peanut butter? Now that’s the makings of a gourmet sandwich!

Jump to:

Is Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?

There’s a lot to love about peanut butter. So let’s cut to the chase.

Yes, the vast majority of peanut butter sold at grocery stores in the U.S. is gluten-free and safe for those on a gluten-free diet.

However, it’s always smart to check the nutritional information to look out for gluten-containing ingredients. Some of the more processed peanut butters may come in contact with gluten during the manufacturing process.

Is All Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?

In its natural form, peanut butter is completely gluten-free. After all, it’s made simply from ground peanuts and salt. Therefore, it’s usually easy to find plenty of gluten-free peanut butter options in the U.S.

Still, some brands of peanut butter may contain additional ingredients that are not safe for those on a gluten-free diet.

Others may not have a gluten-free label, since it is manufactured using equipment that processes wheat, barley, or rye. These peanut butter products could present a risk of cross-contamination.

So if you have a severe gluten allergy, it’s best to stick with the peanut butter brands that are labeled gluten-free.

Is Jif Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?

Yes, most Jif peanut butter is gluten-free. Here’s a statement from their website:

The vast majority of our peanut butters are certified gluten free. We encourage you to look for gluten free claim on the back label of your jar for the most accurate information. 

Is Skippy Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?

Yes, Skippy peanut butter is certified gluten-free, as with most popular peanut butter brands in the U.S.

The product is made by Hormel Foods, and the company verifies that Skippy peanut butter is a gluten-free food on their website.

Is Natural Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?

Yes, most brands of natural peanut butter (stir peanut butter) are gluten-free, since they typically do not contain anything other than peanuts and sea salt.

As always, be sure to check the ingredient list to make sure you’re buying truly natural peanut butter. It’s rare, but some brands may contain gluten ingredients.

overhead shot of all the cookies on marble background with gray napkin and glass of milk

Check out this recipe for gluten-free peanut butter cookies! You also might like these gluten-free monster cookies.

Which Peanut Butter Brands Are Gluten-Free?

Most peanut butter is gluten-free and safe for those who have Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance—even if it doesn’t have a gluten-free label.

If you really want to go the extra mile to ensure your peanut butter is free of gluten, we’re here to help.

Here’s the low-down on some of the most popular peanut butter brands:

  • Adams: Produced by J.M. Smucker Co., Adams peanut butter is a natural variety made from just peanuts and salt. Although the product does not have any gluten-containing ingredients, the company does not make the gluten-free claim, since the peanut butter is not tested to ensure it contains less than 20 ppm gluten.
  • Jif: The Jif company states that most of their peanut butter products are gluten-free. If they are tested to meet the gluten-free standards, the jar will be labeled as such. (But Jif also notes that their products may be manufactured on equipment that produces non-gluten-free products, even if they are certified gluten-free.)
  • Peter Pan: Peter Pan peanut butters fall into one of three categories: gluten-free, unlikely to contain gluten (but not certified), and contains gluten. Any products labeled as gluten-free have been validated to contain less than 20 ppm gluten.
  • Smuckers: Also made by the J.M. Smucker company, Smuckers peanut butter is typically gluten-free. Any peanut butter than has a gluten-free label has been tested for less than 20 ppm gluten.
  • Justin’s: This more gourmet peanut butter is a great option for those on a gluten-free diet, since the company has been certified as gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. Their peanut butters are tested and have less than 10 ppm gluten.

Is Peanut Butter Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free?

If you’re vegan or have a dairy intolerance, we have good news: peanut butter is both dairy-free and gluten-free! Most peanut butter is made from peanuts, salt, palm oil, or hydrogenated vegetable oil (Processed peanut butter may contain some added sugars, too).

In any case, most peanut butters are vegan and gluten-free. So those with dietary restrictions can rejoice and eat PB freely!

You also might like this article on how to make peanut butter.

Is Peanut Butter Gluten- and Grain-Free?

Yes, peanut butter is typically gluten- and grain-free. Peanuts are naturally gluten- and grain-free, and most peanut butter is made from peanuts, oil, and salt.

But keep in mind, some peanut butter brands may add gluten-containing ingredients, so check the label to be sure you’re buying completely gluten-free peanut butter.

Are Peanuts Gluten-Free?

Yes, just as most peanut butter is gluten-free, peanuts are completely gluten-free. However, that doesn’t mean all peanut products are gluten-free. Always check the label to make sure the product doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients, such as wheat, barley, or rye.

For more articles on gluten-free living, check out these posts on are doritos gluten-free, are potato chips gluten-free, are grits gluten-free, are snickers gluten-free and are marshmallows gluten-free. You also might like this post on gluten-free Chick-fil-A!

overhead of penaut butter pie with frosting and peanut m&M candies

You might like this recipe for gluten-free peanut butter pie!

FAQ

Is all peanut butter gluten-free?

The majority of peanut butter sold at grocery stores in the U.S. is gluten-free, even though not all peanut butter products have a gluten-free label. Though rare, some peanut butters may contain gluten ingredients or be manufactured alongside gluten ingredients. If you want to play it safe, buy peanut butter with a gluten-free label.

Why is peanut butter not gluten-free?

In its natural form, peanut butter is gluten-free. However, in some cases, peanut butter is processed using equipment that comes in contact with wheat, barley or rye. This poses a risk of cross-contamination, so peanut butter that is not verified as gluten-free will not have a gluten-free label.

Is peanut butter and jelly gluten-free?

A peanut butter and jelly sandwich can be made gluten free, as long as you use gluten-free bread. Most peanut butter and jelly sold in the U.S. is naturally gluten-free, but it’s always a good idea to check the ingredients list to be sure.

The Bottom Line

Is peanut butter gluten-free? Yes, most of the time, peanut butter is gluten-free.

Whether you’re a fan of crunchy peanut butter, organic peanut butter, or classic peanut butter, the likelihood of the product containing more than 20 ppm gluten is very low.

Even though some popular brands do not have a gluten-free label, they are usually safe for a gluten-free diet.

Keep in mind though, in some rare cases, peanut butter may include gluten-containing grains. The easiest way to be sure your peanut butter is gluten-free is by reading the ingredient list!

More Gluten-Free Articles

Categories:

Hi, I’m Erin!

BS Food Science,

MS Nutrition

I believe you can make amazing, gluten-free food with everyday ingredients that everyone will enjoy. I’m here to share my tried-and-true recipes with you!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.